1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Early Core Duo (mobility) Vs Core 2 Duo 45nm T8xxx

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by FreedomEclipse, May 1, 2008.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Say if i wanted to upgrade my laptop processor to one of these newer 45nm processors. would there be a problem???

    they all run on the same socket (478) & even a T8100 or if possible one of the lower model CPU's (has to be 45nm) since getting rid of heat in my laptop is a fairly big issue (need to get a drill to mod a few vents in the bottom of my lappy)

    asside from a huge performance boost over my 1st gen Core Duo & most possibly better battry life - do you guys think its worth it if the price is right? & if it will work?
     
  2. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I don't think it'll work. Remember that all the desktop mobos needed a BIOS update, so I'm guessing laptops need one too.
     
  3. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    No, they don't run on the same socket, Core Duos ran on S478 mobile, S479, Socket P and Socket M. Depending on the model you chose.
    Core 2 Duos run on Socket P and Socket M, again, dependant on socket. The Santa Rosas nearly all use Socket P I believe.
    The latest T8 and T9, including the X9 series, run on Socket P (I can never remember the exact socket, but I believe that's the latest one).

    You really have to research your socket, and the socket of the upgrade. Even if the pin count is the same (Sockets M and P have 478 pins each), the pin configuration is different, and they aren't pin-compatible. Then there's also the chipset your laptop uses, which affects everything.



    Oh, and for the record, the performance boost isn't enormous clock-for-clock, but what does change is usually the FSB speed, which will give an increase in most apps. TDP of the newr chips is getting lower though. For example, the Core Duos were very cool running, but missed a lot of features the C2Ds had. The first C2Ds for laptops were running hotter, but ran a bit quicker, and the FSB speed was increased, I believe, which gave the biggest boost. The Santa Rosa cores lowered TDP again, to about the level of the CDs, and increased performance, and the new T8/T9/X9 series CPUs lower TDP slightly, increase performance, and increase L2 cache.
    If you manage to be able to use the newest CPUs, the T8100 is a good compromise of performance and heat. Probably won't need mods to allow for better cooling, but might want to use AS5, or MX-2, etc.


    Just searched, T2300 uses S478/479, and the T8100 uses Socket P. Not compatible.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2008
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    damn it - i have a socket S :( yeah just poking around wiki - tells me that my 945GM/PM doesnt support it.... ah well gonna have to look elsewhere for a possible lappy upgrade then
     
  5. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Just find the highest-end CPU you CAN use.
    Mactels at first used Core Duos, and when they upgraded from CD to C2D, the socket and other components didn't change, so you have a chance still, to use one of the earlier models.
     
  6. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Im thinking of doing the same thing... I guess as long as the chipset supports it it should work? Yeah, probably have to do a BIOS update..
     
  7. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    If that T5450 is a Socket P, and your laptop is running the latest BIOS, I see no problem with an upgrade.
    I'm peronally waiting for the T7300 prices to hit rock-bottom, they're still around £100 on fleabay, which isn't worth it, but I can't find many T8100s, and the extra speed gets cancelled out by my 1Gig of RAM, and X3100, so the T73 is a better option for me.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    actually im not sure what socket my cpu is - but it does say 478 on it & thats about it.....
     
  9. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    give us a cpu-z screenshot.
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    [​IMG]

    its a 1.66Ghz cpu but for some reason it always says 1633Hz
    [​IMG]

    im also possibly against upgrading to a much faster cpu of the same sorta type unless it runs a lot cooler - my laptops tiny & already struggles to get rid of the heat when im F@H, well not struggles but you can hear the fan about to break into after burner. predominantly my laptop is a tiny unit with some powerful components packed in tight together. - keeps me warm in the winter it does
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page