1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Early pictures & info of the AMD RD790 board

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, May 29, 2007.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    OCWorkbench has some interesting, but blurry pictures of a RD790 board. It is the successor to the RD580 or 580X chipset. I features four full length PCIe x16 slots and can actually use 4 graphic cards in Crossfire. Turns out there is no real performance gain with such a setup.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: OCWorkbench
     
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,507 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    at least not yet
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    ...if you're not using four cards, yeah.
     
  4. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    The extra two slots will likely be more useful for physics, at least at first, until drivers improving quad-Crossfire come about. Grab an X1550, or another cheap X1x00 card (I'm not really certain on which cards can be used for physics, but I'm guessing the X1x00 series should give rudimentary support, right?), stick it in the PCIe slot, and use it for physics.

    Other than, very useful for the ultimate multi-monitor setup, heheh, or for developers (even though the point of diminished returns with monitors is meant to be at 3/4 monitors for most), or maybe stocks (enough on-screen real-estate to display alot of information).
     
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Nothing against AMD as I love them, but hearing they have a new chipset when its designed by ATI just kind of sounds funny to me. I wish they would give it the ATI RD790 moniker. Granted, I know that when they purchased them some of the stuff would go AMD but I guess I was hoping that the Chipsets and vga boards would be the same :).


    anywho, on to the board. Blurry pics dont really do it justice. Its a nice feature laden board to be sure. 4 16X PCIe slots?!?!?!??! Good Lord that is alot of slots. Imagine Quad crossfire or crossfire and crossphysics :)
     
  6. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Well, the chipsets are going to be marked and marketed as AMD chipsets (even though the ATi division is still developing them), but they did say they'd leave the graphics card chip names well alone and keep the ATi and Radeon naming scheme, so they're not changing everything just yet.
     
  7. Saurian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Doubt it. They don't want us saving money by finding cheap cards used to do it with. If its true that they will allow a third/fourth/whatever card to offload physics onto...it'll certainly have some requirements like...same generation, or minimum of 2600, etc. It can't be that easy, its not financially smart. And this company is not exactly financially sound.
     
  8. CBOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,127 (5.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    [​IMG]

    I want one
     
  10. Leon2ky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ...am I the only one who notices those pictures say "X3600"?
     
  11. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    No, but the one DaMulta posted does say "Wahoo."

    And quad-crossfire? Pshhh.

    Give me four X1950 Duals and I'll have Octo-Crossfire.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    Sorry bro, they say x1600 :p
     
  13. numlock2.0

    numlock2.0 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    I ♥ NY
    I do hope Phenom will be awesome when it is released. The board looks pretty nice, I'd like one :)

    I also like the Shark inscription on the motherboard in the first picture in the link that CBOT posted. (That was an awkward sentence)
     
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah I like the green and black color scheme. I dont like how some of the capacitors are bent on there (soldered good Im sure) and how the SATA Connectors are black and around a bunch of other black colored parts, like USB headers and stuff. Makes it kind of confusing. They should have thrown those in as RED :)
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hopefully this one will clock better than the 580x chipset.

    Any word on projected release dates?
     
  16. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    The motherboard surely looks good but some red in it please!!! So... both competitors are now going to be black+green. Great.


    EDIT:

    http://www.hwupgrade.it/articoli/1723/1.jpg

    god that is sweet.... but isnt it supposed to be black PCB and green slots or something? :laugh: anyways... so Nvidia is Dark garbage green and AMD is light green. Heh... this mobo would fit in my case without trouble :). But is it just me or has AMD caught big PCBitis? Looks great.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page