1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Easiest way to overclock your graphic card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Hayder_Master, Oct 6, 2008.

?

is this thread deserve to be sticky

  1. yes

    87.7%
  2. no

    12.3%
  1. tommywakefield08

    tommywakefield08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oops wrong quote i think. lol. this is the first ever forum that i subscribed to. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  2. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    subscribed for future information. Thx!
     
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    we need some more info on your motherboard. Could you download CPU-Z and open the motherboard tab and take a screen shot and post it for us?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. tommywakefield08

    tommywakefield08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Motherboard info

    Okay i tried the cpu-z thing but that doesn't tell anything about the motherboard. So i just used everest and i dont no how to take a screen shot so i'll just type it all in. :(
    Field Value

    Motherboard Properties
    • Motherboard ID 64-0100-001131-00101111-011708-ATHLON64$1AAAA000_A740GM-M RELEASE 01/17/2008
    • Motherboard Name ECS A740GM-M

    Front Side Bus Properties
    • Bus Type AMD Hammer
    • Real Clock 200 MHz
    • Effective Clock 200 MHz
    • HyperTransport Clock 1000 MHz

    Memory Bus Properties
    • Bus Type Dual DDR2 SDRAM
    • Bus Width 128-bit
    • DRAM:FSB Ratio CPU/6
    • Real Clock 350 MHz (DDR)
    • Effective Clock 700 MHz
    • Bandwidth 11200 MB/s

    Motherboard Physical Info
    • CPU Sockets/Slots 1 Socket AM2+
    • Expansion Slots 2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16
    • RAM Slots 2 DDR2 DIMM
    • Integrated Devices Audio, Video, Gigabit LAN
    • Form Factor Micro ATX
    • Motherboard Size 210 mm x 240 mm
    • Motherboard Chipset AMD740G

    Motherboard Manufacturer

    Sorry ive kinda gotten off the topic of overclocking. i love the thread Keep it up :)
    ill not post anything else here about my cpu upgrading or motherboard. Thanks.
     
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    no it is not support it you can take
    790FX , 790GX or new platforms with DDR3
    and if look for great one see this
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131363
     
    tommywakefield08 says thanks.
  6. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I've tried your method on my 8500GT and I used a extreme oc value of 4. Stock was 460/920/400 and I could go up to 575/1150/500 which isn't bad. But it is still worse than my previous best of 735/1470/495 ( only had to drop the mem by 5 to gain 180mhz on the core again...)

    So what do you suggest I do? Should I keep my max? Any ideas anyone?

    temps goes to about 62C on air.
     
  7. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    good lord! 460 to 735!? Does it FEEL like it's been overclocked that much? I mean, is it possible that's a false reading or is that a confirmed clock speed?
     
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    memory is really holding you back, so i'd keep it down to keep that core speed nice and stellar, 8500GT's oc very well hey :rockout:
     
  9. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    That is confirmed clock speed yes. 3dmark05 scores went from 4565 to 7037. And it makes a huge difference in gaming, probably as much as 8-10 fps on low graphics settings.
     
  10. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Yes it seems to really hold me back. But it does also help my fps as well, although not nearly as much as the core speed.

    I only got artifacts with the core at 780...So I'm wondering, would you say that I could take the core up more if I dropped the memory more? I've never tested it, and never thought about it really:rolleyes:
     
  11. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    sometimes that can be the case, however ive never personally had lowering mem speed affect gpu oc or vica versa...

    always worth a try tho :cool:
     
  12. tommywakefield08

    tommywakefield08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my 8800gt

    i kinda was wondering if there is any sorta techneque for raising the core and lowering the mem. because my oc is 666/1000/1680 form 600/900/1512 and i definetly feel that i could get a lot more out of the core or even out of the whole thing. plus i want to get my core off the devils number :laugh: Any ideas.
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    good still on it , but like i say my way give you overclock without any risk and in same time there is some brands give high range in overclock in gpu or memory depend on the brand hardware made , you can use voltage mode to get more but that's only on you risk
     
  14. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Voltages mods are a no-go for me on a gpu. I'll take it to where it can go on its standard volts, but thats it for me:)
     
  15. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Hey guys heres a technical question!! When you have a video card that get 350mhz at the memory using GPU-Z but you get a DDR2 video card does it work like ddr2-ram slots and you have to double the speed?? I mean i have a DDR2-800mhz but in test programs it tell that i have a 400mhz ram. A guy explained me that it will write 400mhz because i have a ddr2 but if i had a ddr3 then it would mean that my 400mhz got to be tripled to know the real speed.
    So tell me the truth in short :) thx
     
  16. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    In short, yes. As far as I understand, my GPU-Z shows 497mhz thus it equals 994mhz. Rivatuner also shows "half" the speed on its hardware monitor.

    hope that helps
     
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    update using this theory on ATI 4870
     
  18. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    so why is this formular any better than just stright overclocking eg the best i can get out of my card is 900 for the gps's and 999 for the mem, am i going to get a better preformance increase by 825/30 = 27.5 so 825+27.5 = 852
    an 901/30 = 30 so 901+30 = 931 ?

    or are you saying ill be able to get higer than what i can acheave alredy by going
    825/10 = 82 so 825+82=907
    an 901/10 = 90 so 901+90= 991?

    or should i keep the 999mem and put the gpu up to 907?

    or do you think i should go with a /9
     
  19. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,145 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    my 9600GT OC from 650/1650/1800 to
    775/1850/2000...
    and adds up to 10-15 FPS on Crysis Warhead..
     
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    yes , try decrease the constant number for high overclock until you have an constant number give crashes so you back for stable one before it
    im always say to people who do overclock to keep the eye on the temp


    that's cool , i hope you enjoy with my way
     
  21. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    for totallys a sticky :)
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  22. DreamSeller Guest

    omfg my brother pressed NO ... :((((
     
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,998 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    I've always increased the GPU 1st and depending one what others got i started about 50 less there. For example with his 4890 i started at 900 then increased by 5 which got me at a max of 950 due to heat. Not tried the ram yet i'm sure it could be bumped up some but need a 3rd party cooler for that and it's summer time to so thats not helping in my case at all as we do not use a air conditioner.

    For now i leave mine at 920\975 as it's going get loads hotter still and because the heat does not need to get GPU\reg max temps it don't mean your cards not over heating then there the memory which might be getting a tad to hot too.


    I cannot say with NV cards as i'm sure it some what different do to having unlocked shaders and with buying ATI cards for the last 3 years my last NV card was a 7900GT.
     
  24. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    How did I miss this thread? Thx hayder.master for taking the time to help us noobs.

    If I can keep a comp running for more than a couple of hours I will be sure to use all the good bits here:toast:
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  25. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Erm.. what? I'm not sure I'm following the point in this thread :wtf:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page