1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Easiest way to overclock your graphic card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Hayder_Master, Oct 6, 2008.

?

is this thread deserve to be sticky

  1. yes

    87.7%
  2. no

    12.3%
  1. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    thanx my brothers (wolf and MKmods) im really appreciate all this :toast: , feel great when i see your posts here
     
  2. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i am very respect you opinion , but if you try this theory and have any problem just know me i will be witting , thanx

    hello my friend ketxxx , sure you are not easy Satisfied about this cuz you are great overclocker , and you can try it and see by yourself , sure you not reach same result as you do but you can get good stable overclock quickly , but that's what i say above "this way very useful for newbies, beginners and who want try overclock without go over range and damage the card and who look for most stable overclock." so what you think
    also some guys try it here and get high overclock like me and wolf
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,403 (7.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,882
    Cool thread. You got my vote :D
     
  4. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Interesting thread Hayder.master. This could be helpfull to newbies wanting to squeeze some extra performance out of their GPU.
     
  5. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    hey guys i just wanted to know whether OC depends on da driver heavily ?? :confused:
     
  6. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    nice thread with a lot of useful info for people new to GPU OCing. :toast:
     
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad


    thanx a lot my friends ("TheMailMan78,Craigleberry,imperialreign" im really happy for your posting , I appreciate all this guys :toast:
     
  8. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    As every new way in any thing need alot of testing and I know that (hayder) did alot of tests before posting this thread .... i will see what can i do with my card GTX260 + this OC method ....well lets see few numbers tests (gpu-memory-shader clocks) and start with stock one:

    GPU=602
    memory=1107
    shader=1296

    let take a constant value =8

    GPU 600/8=75 +stock -------------> new gpu clock=675
    memory 1107/8=138 + stock ------> new memory clock=1245
    shader 1296/8=162 + stock -------> new shader clock =1458

    STOCK

    [​IMG]

    MAXIMUM

    [​IMG]

    MAX "hayder way"

    [​IMG]

    so nice OC results compared to what maximum I've reached which is identical except for the GPU ...
    considering that the max you can OC GT200 GPU must be half of the the shader clock or less of course .....

    so nice way my friend and as you say it its good for all overclock newbies beginners it'll give them good and quick way ..... :toast:.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 16, 2009
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  9. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    thanx a lot my dear brother , i really appreciate all of this , i was need an tests on GTX260 GPU-Z screen shot test cuz the 4870 and GTX is most Common card's , and i find you Provided great help for me to complete my tests
    and thanx for kind replay i really care much about your opinion :toast:
     
  10. h3llr3is3r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Keep up the good work.
    the theory not always is good.
    i have once a geforce 6600 and i overclocked. If i not fail my best was 100 mhz on memory and 300 mhz on gpu.
    This was with everyday use.So not realy the same percentage and all was made under air cooling.( not the original) I destroyed the card when i tried to remove the memory voltmod.
    My other experience was with two geforce 5200. On one we can raise the gpu well but not the memory on the second just the memory can be raised.It was very interedting point.
    Yes, you have right the card was made by two different card maker.

    This thread just growed too big.
    Nothing special.
    Sorry if i made any "unenglish" expression.
     
  11. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I will have to try this when I have a chance nice thread Hayder :toast:
     
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    this thread has improved from the last time posting. and just to say it again this DOES WORK
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yup got my 4850X2 to 720mhz doing it :) Before that I know I got my 4850 higher as well.
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  14. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    using GPUtool, getting 620 from the 8600gt, dont want it to push it further due to crappy psu. also, i prefer it to 600 as temps are way lower.
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  15. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    thanx my friend for your reply , and i don't think you are gonna beat your max overclock cuz my way look for max safe , and im very thankful to you if you try it and out an GPU-Z screen shot

    thanx my friend , i will be happy when you get use of it :toast: , welcome my friend
    what you think my friend , you see the tests or you can try just a bit in begging to be more sure , and i will be pleased to you
     
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    ohhh ,ShadowFold my dear friend how can i miss your first post , thanx a lot im really appreciate all of this , thank you my brother your tests mean much to me :toast:
     
    AhokZYashA says thanks.
  17. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I must say, this method didn't quite work so well for my 8500GT...

    BUT, On my 9600GT it did give me about 35mhz extra on the memory :)

    So yes, I would say you can definitaly give his method a try:toast:
     
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    thanx my friend for trying my way , im really grateful :toast:

    im really appreciate all of this testing this way on 2 card's , thanx a lot :toast:
    also my friend i want know why this way not work well with you 8600GT cuz im try it on inno3d 8600GT and it is work , did you reach good overclock using your skills , and what is the last constant number hit with my way with your 8600GT please , im will be grateful to you , and im glad to see this way work well with your 9600GT :toast:
     
  19. JBravo

    JBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    No problem. But the card I had was a 8500GT not 8600GT. Your method worked well enough for a good stable oc, but it didn't give me my highest stable oc.

    But on the 9600gt I actually got an even higher clock with a constant of 5.5 giving me 768/1900/1063 from 650/1625/900.

    :toast:
     
  20. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    lets take a constant number of 5
    650/5 = 130+stock = 780MHz
    1650/5 = 330+stock = 1980MHz
    1800/5 = 360+stock = 2160MHz

    RUNNING STABLE!!!!

    try number of 4
    650/4 = 162.5+stock = 813MHz
    1650/4 = 412.5+stock = 2063MHz
    1800/4 = 450+stock = 2250MHz

    quite unstable so must decrease the memory to 2100MHz...

    and still testing for MORE....:rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    thanx for testing my friend , im really thankful and im glad to see you get in use with your 9600 GT :toast:
     
  22. step1st

    step1st New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    jakarta
    thanks, it's very helpfull :toast:

    how about use ati tools for overclock ?
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    sure my friend any program
     
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,186 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    many thanx for moderators to accept this thread as sticky thread :toast: , i made this for TPU and only for TPU , so im gonna working hard and think in new idea's serving this site cuz this what i learned from it :respect:
     
  25. roque66

    roque66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks for this...just looking something that helps on my hd3850 CF.....just one question...do we have to chance voltage on graphics?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page