1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Eaton 3S UPS 420W will it be to underpowered for my rigg?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Live OR Die, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    AsRock says thanks.
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,898 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    Rochester area
    should be fine your entire system including the monitor probly doesn't draw more then 380W at full tilt
    that said you are only gonna get about 2 or 3 min of run time if the machine is at full load
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Thats fine i just want it so i can shut my system down when the power cut off or my dad cuts it off crappy old house.
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,898 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    Rochester area
    honestly if you can afford to go with a slightly bigger unit 500-600 that way you have some leway for when the battery starts to get old
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    I have had one of these for a few years now and it's been perfect for me
    CyberPower Intelligent LCD Series GreenPower UPS C...

    i get plenty of time around 200w 15w +/- runs about 27-30 minute run time.

    EDIT:
    Oh yeh, the new item smell is not good one and last about a week..

    And thanks of reminding me as i would love to get another one this year.
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    I would of gone with one of those but i didnt want to have to use an adapter and i wanted some think slimline, well i brought that one ill see how it goes if it crap ill get a new one later on.
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,988 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,939
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    Just remember to blow the dust out of it time to time as they use a fan for cooling. Tower one was more what i needed although plugs cn be a pain in the but but shit like this helps ( exmple ).

    http://www.staples.com/Tripp-Lite-P022-001-2-SJT-Power-Extension-cord-120-V/product_IM1N66835

    I got aa 6 plug one which it seems that staples dont have online at least and got it due to being small and only having a 6 inch cable with it which allowed me to plug in all the low powered items i needed too in it although they do not recommend you do that though but i think as long as the demand you put on it is reasonable should be ok.

    I can imagine some people plugging a few comps in a few screens in that way which is way they say not to do it.



    Anyways ran great over the 20+ power cuts we had over the last few years thats including the real short ones which saves the modem and router from rebooting and the WTF's while playing some thing..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page