1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ECS First to Add AMD Memory Profile Support

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Elitegroup Computer Systems (ECS) today announces that it is the first hardware manufacturer to support the latest AMD Memory Profile (AMP) on its innovative platform: A85F2-A Deluxe motherboard. It has been ready to take full advantage of the performance, high end gaming, multi-tasking and energy efficiency with the most anticipating technology “AMP”, allowing users to fully satisfy their growing demand with its unique operating designed.

    With striving on Research and Development and also closely cooperation with AMD, ECS is honored to become the first AMD Memory Profile (AMP) certified motherboard vendor in the world. The upcoming AMD Memory Profile (AMP) not only breaks through the traditional design, it also enables the performance tuning of DDR3 memory modules beyond standard JEDEC (Joint Electron Devices Engineering Council) specification.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    AMP features a wide range of enhancements, reliability and perfectly performance, which are certified DDR3 Plug & Play memory modules. The latest AMD Memory Profile (AMP) provides a new experience to users in order to unleash the maximum memory performance.

    A innovation leading company - ECS, is the first company announce to import AMD Memory Profile (AMP) into product. ECS not only provides integrated solution for supporting, but also considers customers’ needs as the core consideration for the products design, and the customer-oriented design concept has been the power for its self-progression. Making a unique and glory prominent product is the only purpose for ECS.
     
    WarEagleAU, H82LUZ73, cadaveca and 2 others say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's AMD's equivalent of Intel XMP. It already tried that with "AMD Game! Memory," failed, this is a retry.
     
  3. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Hopefully they have better luck this time around :)

    Nice to see ECS being first for something too :toast:
     
  4. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    378 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    lol yeah there is that unused tab in AMD Overdrive called Black Edition Memory Profile or something. It's been there for years but I have never seen any RAM with an actual Black Edition Memory Profile.

    Now they are going to call it AMP? It doesn't really matter what they call it if they can't get the RAM producers and more motherboard producers to actually support it.

    Kind of sucks for novice users trying to find the right timings to make high speed RAM work on AMD right now. This AMP will help for sure, but they better not charge an arm and a leg for "AMD Certified RAM" like they did with the Flares.
     
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've already bought 32gb of the stuff. It is really fast and overclocks well.
     
    WarEagleAU and hellrazor say thanks.
  6. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    474 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I hope they don't get sued by ZOTAC.

    Oh, they won't, because they forgot the exclamation mark :laugh::laugh:
     
  7. MaKCuMyC

    MaKCuMyC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ukraine
    is XMP patented so AMD don't use it?
    I dislike XMP because memory vendors don't use it right, imho, I hate situations when you buy 1600 MHz memory and it has only 1333 jedec and 1600 xmp profiles spd. So use must manualy edit settings to get 1600 Mhz.
    I think if memory has label 1600 it must work at this speed without any help.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That's a board-level issue. Some work great with XMP, others do their own thing, that can be really crappy. For example, nvidiaintelftw got some g.skill memories, and had stability issues, because the BIOS on his board didn't read the XMP v1.3 profile correctly(XMP v1.2 board). So you gotta get memory with XMP profile, and board that supports XMP profile version correctly, for it to work right, and finding those combos can be difficult, indeed.


    Now, on AMD, you're left manually setting up ram, period, and since most ram sells with XMP-rated timings and speed, there's no guarantee memory will work above JEDEC settings on an AMD rig. At least AMD is taking steps to fix that problem. It's not like ECS came up with this..they are just first to support it.
     
    WarEagleAU, lindy and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Memory along with boards can be the most finicky part of a system I think. One cannot expect memory to work 100% right out of a box everytime.
     
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    AMD motherboards need all the support they can get. Right now, it's a fairly slim selection of "top tier" 990fx motherboards. The rest of the motherboards follow the same trend as well.
     
  11. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    278 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Ravenas "AMD motherboards need all the support they can get. Right now, it's a fairly slim selection of "top tier" ANYTHING"

    LOL sorry...I couldn't resist
     
  12. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    You really only have a choice between 3 top tier 990fx motherboards:

    ASUS
    GIGABYTE
    MSI

    These aren't really what you call top tier compared to the intel top tier but I think the intel top tier motherboards are something I have no need for anyhow.

    3 years ago it was a different story.
     
  13. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,642 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    172
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    ASRock, unless you don't count them until they cost 200+ :| The 990FX Pro could use more settings for OC, but it's very strong and stable.

    I have an AMD MB that uses XMP. It's not common, though.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  14. MAXLD

    MAXLD

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Portugal
    I had an OCZ "AMD Black Edition" kit, one of very few that was supposed to work flawlessly/out of the box with that software, and not even that was enough to unblock that tab on AMD Overdrive. It was disappointing to see that all that Black Edition/Overdrive crap never really worked for AMD, specially considering some Black Edition cpu's that came with crappy memory controllers that mined the supposed overclock potential/unlocked multiplier advantage. Hell, nothing seems to work for AMD since a long time ago.

    They should really focus hard on the incoming DDR4 technology and come up with something really relevant and ground breaking for a change. If not, AMD will certainly continue to resume itself to the good old ATi inside the enthusiast market...
     
    damric says thanks.
  15. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    That is one ugly UEFI. ASUS UEFI FTW!
     
  16. MaKCuMyC

    MaKCuMyC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Then AMD doing stupid thing, there is no need to inventing a bicycle.
     
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Or maybe JEDEC needs to get off their asses and release standards for memory over DDR3-1600. ;)
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  18. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I didn't think Jedec went above DDR3-1333, least I have never seen Jedec standards with any RAM I have used above 1333mhz :ohwell:
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think that only re-enforces the fact that they've been lazy. :ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page