1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ECS Releases AM3 CPU Compatible Motherboard List

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ECS has released a partial list of its motherboards that are ready for the upcoming 45nm desktop processors by AMD. Featured in the list, are most of ECS' AM2 and AM2+ socket motherboards based on the AMD 7-series chipsets along with those based on NVIDIA GeForce 8100a and 8200a. CPU compatibility of these existing motherboards can be expanded by means of a BIOS update. Excluded from the update notably, are the company's 7-series chipset based motherboards that use the older SB600 southbridge. For links to the supported motherboards' product pages for BIOS updates, please visit this page.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Thats great but where are the cpu's :banghead: I am over waiting. :)
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is it hard to code AM3 support for SB600 or are they just wanting you to buy their new boards?
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    They just want you to buy their newer boards. This is what gheySUS did too :shadedshu

    On the other hand, MSI has several of its SB600 based motherboards supporting these newer processors. A southbridge has nothing to do with CPU support, really.
     
    KBD and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    we need cpu's now
     
  6. powerwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I'm surprised the A760GM isn't on that list. Hi SB710! We thought, you were dead!
    But if AMD really do pair you with 8-series northbridges outside of notebooks, I shall kill you dead myself.:shadedshu
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Need more releases from Asus on more boards supporting Phenom II
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Holy Crap! ECS bios coders are not retarded. My board is there on the list. This time they better fix the Voltage bug in their bioses.

    But wait. All the AM2+ Denebs are 125W CPUs and my GF8200A doesn't support 125w officially. so is there a 95w version also coming up or ECS is just BS us? Is there a AM2+ X2 or X3 also coming up (which might fall under the 95w category)?
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2008
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    X3's are expected to be 95w iirc :toast:
     
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    But there are no X3 for AM2+ based on Deneb.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its Heka and they will work on AM2+ boards. Why do you think they releasing AM3 support lists for AM2+ boards? Also the lower end Denebs will be 95w too.
     
  12. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    ok now I am confused. I thought the pin layout is different for AM3 socket?
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Nope, still 940 pins.
    To make it simple..
    AM3 boards support AM3 ONLY and ONLY do DDR3.. May be better at OCing but who knows..
    AM2+ boards support AM2/AM2+/AM3 and Only do DDR2 and no DDR3 ever
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    if get myself a Phenom 2 i'll be getting a Gigabyte or an MSI board, to my knowledge these 2 are the only ones that offer AM3 support for SB600 and a variety of their other boards. Asus and the rest of these a**holes wont be getting my money anytime soon.

    BTW, did DFI put one out yet?
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Why not Biostar?
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea I will most likely go with Biostar or Foxconn my self. I would go ASUS but the ASUS 790GX doesn't look all that great compared to the cheaper foxconn/biostar boards.
     
  17. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    because Biostar dropped support on most of their AM2+ boards, including SB600, they just want the consumer to fork over more money every time there is a socket change. thats messed up. there is no reason why they cant support all their AM2+ boards so they are no different from Asus and ECS. I dont want to support these companies and will be getting a Giga or MSI or whoever else that doesnt screw their customers.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    i heard the 600 SB was very problematic in Drive Performance and Stability issues plagued it, is there any truth to that (Info needed)
     
  19. powerwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I heard that too. AMD neither confirm nor deny.
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    By "Support" they don't necessarily mean that it supports all the 45nm chips that are coming up. If yhe GF8200a isn't capable of 125W chips, in most likelihood it will only support up to 95W chips.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  21. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    So basically, I should buy a AM3 PII 945 BE and place it into my AM2+ board, and when I upgrade to DDR3/AM3, I already have the CPU?

    Though, I upgrade every 1-2years, so maybe just get the AM2+ CPU and board that way I can get either Intel or AMD when I'm ready to upgrade again.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page