1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EIZO Intros 27'' Professional Display with Wide Color Gamut

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    EIZO announced its latest display for professionals, the FlexScan SX2762W-HX. This 27-inch LCD display bears a 16:9 aspect ratio, with a native resolution of 2560 x 1440 pixels. The display uses an IPS panel that gives 97 percent Adobe RGB palette coverage, with 850:1 static contrast ratio and 270 cd/m² brightness. Panel response time is rated at 6 ms. An ambient light sensor adjusts settings optimized to the lighting conditions, while a proximity sensor lets the display know if the user is away from keyboard, which then sends the display into a power-saving mode.

    The FlexScan SX2762W-HX takes input from dual-link DVI, DisplayPort, and mini-DisplayPort. It packs a USB 2.0 hub that gives users easy access to a couple of ports. The stand allows height, tilt, and pivot adjustments. Slated for release in the second week of February, the EIZO FlexScan SX2762W-HX comes backed by a 5-year warranty, priced at US $1533.

    [​IMG]
  2. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    :eek: :toast: :rockout:
  3. Regenweald

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    The average 24 inch display can be had for less than 300$. Why does 3 more inches add the price of 4 more monitors ? with that money I could buy a high end eyefinity card and three Asus 120hz monitors.
  4. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Because:

    Far better quality screen with better colour reproduction. Those cheap $300 monitors are TN panels, which are very poor for accurate colour reproduction.
  5. Regenweald

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yet that is still over twice the price of a 24" IPS monitor. The 27' and 30" markup is still much too high.
  6. Taskforce Guest

    Bought a Dell U2410 for $300 mind you, plus the U3011 and U2710 cost significantly less than what they're asking.
  7. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    cf or led?
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    This has a 97% RGB palette coverage + a resolution of 2560x1440 on 27" (great pixel pitch). IPS screen, and 6ms is pretty fast for IPS.

    This is the top end 27" monitor, it is supposed to be expensive
  9. Andy77 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
  10. Regenweald

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Because those 24" displays apart from not being IPS panels also do not render at 2560x1440 pixels.

    _____________________

    I still consider this Eizo to be quite expensive though. The Dell U2711 has got the same specs (unless I missed out something) and retails for 2/3 of the price.

    Edit: The Dell gets 96% RGB which is 1% less than the Eizo. That's the only difference I found.
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    TFT isn't IPS.... It's like saying, why is a Bugatti Veyron Supersport 1.7 million euros when at 15 000 euros I can get a Honda Civic

    The combination of 27" 2560x1440, IPS, 6ms response time, and 97% RGB owns the shit out of 99.99% of all monitors
  13. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    it's a professional monitor. something you'd plug in a quadro/firepro vga card. now go :eek: at their prices.
  14. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Nice I like the resolution, and it seems to be quality, but for over $1,500 I expect a USB 3 hub, and HDMI, not crappy display port!
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    most high end monitors use DP IIRC
  16. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    How hard would it have been to add a HDMI port, but I would rather use the DVI, over DP.
  17. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Obviously still an 8-bit monitor. Wide gamut for the lose.
  18. Breit

    Breit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    194 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    What makes you say that? This monitor has hardware calibration support and works internally with a 12-Bit LUT so that should not be a problem. Besides, 'wide gamut' means that there is a large color space (deeper reds, deeper blues etc.), not necessarily more colors (in terms of color count).

    By the way, have you ever tried to enable 10-Bit color support in Windows/Linux/MacOS? It's definitely not that easy... First you need a professional graphics card (Quadro/FirePro etc.), none of the consumer cards (GTX 580 / HD 6970 etc.) support that. Second you need software that support 10-Bit Deep Color (like Photoshop). Best case is that your normal applications without Deep Color support work like they used to (eventually a bit slower), worst case is they don't work at all because they don't support rendering at 10-Bit (30-/40-Bit). I have a Dell U3011 wich has 10-Bit color support and i have tried that... :)

    The problem with the new Eizo is that it is a 16:9 aspect. Noone is going to pay this much just to watch movies and for content creation it is just too wide with a too small dot pitch (at least for windows until microsoft implements proper dpi-scaling).
  19. TAViX Guest

    Tell me about it. I have a 27 inches with a lower 1200p resolution, and still I have problems with to small text, windows, apps inside icons and stuff...
  20. Breit

    Breit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    194 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    ...and yet you have a monitor with just the largest dot pitch one can have in a conventional display with about 0.303 mm/pixel (~84dpi). The new EIZO by the way is 0.2331 mm/pixel (~109dpi). :eek:
  21. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wtf, DP is more flexible have higher bandwith, so it can support 3D, without to be limited to 24 FPS, and more simple and the best part is you can use it for free.
  22. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Er, right click desktop, properties, settings, advanced, set 120dpi.

    Er, right click desktop, appearance, effect, select large icons.

    Get a beer. Enjoy.
  23. TAViX Guest

    Already at 120 dpi, thank you. Already at second beer, thank you very much ;)
    I was talking about the icons in programs like AutoCAD, Maya, 3DS, iDEAS, CADceus, etc, etc, that don't scale well with high dpi settings.
    Also the stupid text books like the ones Cisco have for study. They are written in flash, java, whatever, and you cannot make the text bigger at all. Not even by increasing dpi.....
    But the most important thing is that I keep the screen at least half of meter from my eyes. I still don't need glasses, but that can change if I stay to close to the screen to read crappy small text....
  24. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    3D content is FAIL, and expensive, also I have 0 interest in 3D, it needs to go away so I can have thinner 30" monitors for for $300-$400.
  25. Breit

    Breit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    194 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    why don't you get yourself a 36" or 42" tv-screen and hook it up to your pc via hdmi? i bet you'll find one for around $400... if you are lucky, these screens even can't do 3d! :cool:

    good luck with the whole quality vs. cheapness thing... :rolleyes:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page