1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EK Introduces Two Water Blocks for NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,408 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    EK WaterBlocks is ready with two new full-coverage water blocks for NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590, the EK-FC590-GTX-Nickel (with transparent acrylic top), and EK-FC590-GTX-Nickel+Acetal (with opaque acetal top). Tops aside, the two are of the same design. The primary material is copper with nickel plating to minimize corrosion over time. It uses a common channel design with ridges over the two GPU areas, and pressure-building points over the other areas such as the GTX 590's feisty VRM. Overall, the block is rectangular in shape, and rather than finding a way around the cylindrical capacitors, it makes room for them using holes in the block. The EK-FC590-GTX-Nickel is priced at €124.96, while the EK-FC590-GTX-Nickel+Acetal goes for €129.95.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    do they cool that bit that likes bursting into flame?
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,408 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, there are contact points that run over MOSFETs.
    Mussels says thanks.
  4. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Even with a waterblock, the GTX 590 will still blow if you apply too much voltage; the problem is the power phase, not enough. And how much? You can get two GTX 580 for the price of one GTX 590 and the waterblock if you shop around.
  5. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Fixed.
  6. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    I meant GTX 580, but it doesn't add up. I must have mixed £ and $ :) Anyway here in the UK the GTX 480 is around £200, I just got my second one, undervolted them and couldn't be happier.
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Would a 590 with one of these on blow up at 1.2v? or are the ovp and power bits not upto it?

    Just wondering whether better cooling would have made any differance as to the 1.2v killing it or not.
  8. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    you notice how EK in house pics never look like what you get in the mail?? usually they have crappy machine marks all over them like they used a DULL bit during milling.
    runnin17 says thanks.
  9. Per Hansson

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sweden
    That has not been my experience, the ones I've bought have had great finnish
    Judas says thanks.
  10. runnin17

    runnin17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    This. EK used to be a stand up company, unfortunately, they have gone the way of DangerDen. Now they produce junk and very often the nickel finish is of very low quality. Stick with MIPS for full cover blocks and Heatkiller or AquaComputer for GPU/CPU waterblocks.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,913 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    its not that its to much is the power limiter on the card that was not working with the beta drivers that review sites were using. the new drivers that are going to release or already released are suppose to fix it an apply a limiter to how much voltage you can use. i saw a video where Linus at LinusTechtips couldnt apply more then 1.050v on AB. just like where guys with 4 series fermi cards could go higher then 1.087 without a modded bios.
  12. Per Hansson

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Sweden
    Wizzard used the driver version that supposedly has the "working" power limiter

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page