1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EK-Supreme CPU Waterblock

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by t_ski, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Good stuff...I personally would opt for the model that utilizes acetal instead of the acrylic.
     
  3. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    nice review as always Tski ;)

    couple Q's : what were the other blocks/HSF tested on? the same system or different? were the tests done consecutively with multiple remounts?

    i ask bcuz i find it hard to beleive that my storm would perform as closely as it did

    it should be noted that this block is HIGH restriction and should be used in single block loops or loops utillizing high PRESSURE pumps such as DDC's or the godly IWAKI md-30; or you can get funky and pair a couple of D5's/DDC's together in series

    when used in an optimum loop this is THE block to have as it will outshine a fuzion ;)

    :toast:
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah I prefer Acetal of Acrylic, but with EK, you are getting top quality. I have to admit, the price is cheaper than I figured it would be, considering the 8800 EK cooler for the 8800 gpu is like 140 bucks or more. Excellent review as always and I like the price.
     
  5. olstyle

    olstyle

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    69 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Typical North American thinking...
    This Block is restricting, but that doesn´t mean it needs all the preasure to perform great.
    Just make sure that there is no block in the loop which is designed for a highflow setup and you are ready to rock with an oldschool german Eheim 1046 ;).
     
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Good review, thanks for sharing. I wonder if there is any performance difference if DangerDen's Fatboy barbs were used :twitch:
     
  7. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    So I thought this block was better than the D-tek?? why weren't they tested against each other??
     
  8. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    youre absolutely right as long as youve got 1.0gpm-1.5gpm flow youre good to go, but if you can feed it some good pressure youll really see its performance ;)

    :toast:
     
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    nice review T!
     
  10. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    I don't have a D-tek to test. If you have one you'd like to supply I can add those numbers to the test. I'm sure Eddy from EK would appreciate it.

    BTW, all blocks were tested on the same system with the same components with multiple mounts (averaged results rounded to nearest whole number).
     
    intel igent says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    looks like ill be getting this wb!
    thanks for the review
     
  12. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    great review! I found EK by accident, as they were the only full cover block for the 3870 when I got mine. And I couldnt be happier with them!

    How do you think it compares to the apogee GT??
     
  13. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    im sure this one is better...i think i read reviews saying that the gt on a similar system was almost the same but little hotter but dont hold me to that im recalling from memory and its early
     
  14. olstyle

    olstyle

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    69 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
  15. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    If I had a spare I would tottally donate, but I'm kinda poor.lol
     
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @ asb : this will be 3c-5c better than apogee gt even more on quads IIRC

    @ olstyle : haven't seen that block before. Have to take a closer look at it but I still think the EK is king
     
  17. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    sweet, I might look into upgrading......

    I did have a problem with my GT, it doesnt like to fit in the rampage too nicely, I had to bend the heatsink for the NB cooler alittle to get it in there. Do you think I would have these problems with this EK block??

    This EK block is really the king eh??
     
  18. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    the EK really shines when used in conjunction with a high pressure pump and ideally no other blocks in the loop (from what i've seen) unless you plan on using an IWAKI pump ;)

    i've also heard of mounting issues on some intel boards due to heatpipe layouts so if you're gong that route it is reccomended to order the intel only mounting plate along with it to avoid any conflicts

    :toast:
     
  19. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Im holding off on upgrading the CPU block right now, Im looking to grab a cryoZ when they go on sale. If I miss it, Im gonna have to run a seperate loop for the CPU, I was gonna get a MCP655 pump, you think that will be enough. The loop will consist of 2 swiftech radiators and the CPU block.
     
  20. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    mcp655/D5 is great for flow, not so much pressure (this is why everyone is itching for a top to be made for them), it gets beaten easily by a DDC/mcp355 with a top ;)

    if i may suggest you;

    1 HWlabs GTX360 if you can afford (mcr's work well but you seem to be on a mission so), 3 high power fans (somethink like ultra kaze's/panaflo ultra's/delta's or w/e) and DDC with top for CPU only.

    id set that up like so : res>pump>block>rad>res, this way the block would get full pressure from the pump ;) i always like to plumb my loops so the block gets the water first :confused: in this situation heat dump from the pump is EXTREMELY negligible, especially with a DDC ;)

    unless you want to get serious and get 1 pump (IWAKI md-30) and use that to run your loop/s, but now youre talkin big bucks for L/C

    IIRC an mcr320 can dissipate ~430w of heat and a GTX360 ~560w

    if you wanted to save on the pressure drop aspect you could go with a TC pa120.3 which can remove ~540w IIRC

    i dont know if i make sense anymore :confused: im having a bad day :nutkick:

    hopefully you get the cryoZ ;)

    :toast:
     
    asb2106 says thanks.
  21. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    jeez!! Now I see why they are so expensive! Those things look intense, like they belong on a fire truck or some crazy shit.
     
  22. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    LOL!

    likin the new avvy ;) dont f*ck with chuck :laugh:

    :toast:
     
  23. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Thanks! That was the intention.

    So Im doing some diggin on sidewindercomputers right now, and Im thinkin a 655 pump, a GTX 480 rad, and the EK Supereme. Is this block the same one as in this review???
     
  24. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    no the one in the review has the acrylic top, LOL ;)

    if you switch to the EK remember to get the intel only mounting to avoid problems ;)

    i dont know the exact p/d (pressure drop) for the GTX480 but IIRC its a little on the restrictive side

    quit being stubborn :rolleyes: with the EK you want high pressure, a DDC/mcp355 with top for MAX performance ;)

    :toast:
     
  25. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    alright!!!! Hey, you know I already have a MCP355 with a Petra top right..... Should I keep that for the CPU and use the 655 for my 2 full cover EK 3870 blocks??

    and is there a difference between the acrylic top and acetal?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page