1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Elecom Intros Pair of SSDs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,733 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,200
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Elecom Japan announced two new solid state storage products, with the minuscule nanoSSD, and a regular 2.5-inch SSD. The more interesting of the two, nanoSSD plugs directly into a SATA port on the motherboard. It measures 25 x 6.5 x 39 mm, and weighs a mere 8 g. At these dimensions, it offers 16 GB of storage with transfer-rates of 75/30 MB/s (read/write). This just about makes it ideal for embedded machines, test systems, and SFF boxes.

    The other SSD on offer of the regular 2.5-inch size, and comes in capacities of 64 GB and 128 GB. Elecom did not provide much info about this in its press-release. Nevertheless, the two drives will hit stores in a couple of days.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Akihabara News
     
  2. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    I wonder the cost of this, since it would be perfect for bench sessions
     
  3. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    iWant.

    That NANO SSD is just the stuff I need for a couple of my systems. I'll take (counts free SATA slots)....14.
     
  4. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    This is WICKED!
    Imagine down the road where high performance drives just adds on like USB-sticks on the motherboard!
     
  5. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    NanoSSD = Freakin Genius :rockout:
     
  6. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    If this is cheap (and by cheap i mean closer to HD prices), it would be awesome for mini-Raid0's and:

    OS only Drive
    Games only Raid0
    Apps only

    I wants prices!
     
  7. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  8. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    +500000
     
  9. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    look at those speeds:eek: they are unbeliveble
     
  10. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I would actually sell my 500GB Black and get like 6 of these. Make this computer JUST for gaming etc. and use another for storage
     
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I was hoping that they powered it off of the SATA connection, but no. Do they advertise it that way? Of course they do :shadedshu

    Of course, it's a great idea, but I think I'm gonna wait until Powered eSATA 3.0 and stick one of these guys in there :)
     
  12. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,085 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    the 16gb ssd is a bad idea becuase of taking three sata.
     
  13. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    not a bad idea - just not suited for all. it would work fine for me as I only use 3 ports

    for SFFs it especially doesnt matter
     
  14. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,965 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I agree with this. Although, if you don't use half your ports, I guess you are ok. Kinda like my motherboard.
    It has 2 ports on top of each other, then a little off to the side, there are 2 more. So I could ideally get
    4 of these and shouldn't have a problem.
    I guess the amount you can have will depend on the sata layout on your mobo.
     
  15. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Going by the width of these, i could fit 7 on my P5Q-E.

    If their cheap, i would defiantly buy 7... lol
     
  16. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    cheap SSD! :rolleyes: RIGHT
     
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,552 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    681
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yeah, considering I've only seen an SSD in this form from one other manufacturer, they're certainly going to milk the uniqueness.

    Can't wait till I can throw 4-6 of these at a board though :D
     
  18. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Well, their alot smaller in both capacity and size. Also, they've taken alot of the stuff out of a 2.5" (im guessing) - so it's gotta cost alot less than a 30GB SSD.
     
  19. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    This new nano ssd is a great idea, but blocking other sata's is never a good thing.

    FIXED:D.....:toast:
    [​IMG]
     
    Roph and tkpenalty say thanks.
  20. MopeyMartian

    MopeyMartian

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    197 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Just a matter of time before we see a SSD built into the motherboard like NICs and soundcards.
     
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    They already have those. They hold tiny operating systems that let you instantly boot (more like 3 seconds) to the internet. I think it was first used in ASUS's P5Q3 Deluxe boards.
     
  22. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    874 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Now here's a product i can see some REAL applications for.. very interesting indeed...

    And as for the complaints about its physical size - well first of all almost every board I've had (Gigabyte / ASUS) scatter their Sata's around a bit - so it wouldn't be a real problem, and second of all I think the intended application for a drive like this is not to build RAID5 arrays (although that may be fun too) its for building simple light - terminal type pc's that probably only have this ONE drive.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    higher wright speeds would be nice, my usb thumb drive dose 20mb a second, fix that and when they are out in somthing like 32/64gb then it would be an excelent OS drive, even if it took up say 2 sata ports in space


    (i wonder if you can boot from them ?)
     
  24. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Yeah M3N-HT Deluxe has that, (Express Gate) but I don't see the need to use it unless your having problem booting into Windows and need to use the interweb.
     
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Yep, MSI calls their version Winky :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page