1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Electrical buzzing/whining noise

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by sai-, Jan 24, 2008.

1. sai- New Member

Thanks Received:
    I have recently built a new rig for the first time (see specs) and everything went smooth. But sometimes there's a high pitched buzzing sound, it quiets down if I move the mouse. I did a Google search and found some threads about the Corsair psu making the same noises but I can't really tell if it's the PSU or not. I tried unplugging the video card and booting up, and there doesn't seem to be any noise but can't be sure since I can't really use the computer as if I had video. The sound usually starts when I start programs or when I'm in game but sometimes it seems to be random. Everything else seems to be running fine but I'm not really an expert. Video card temp is around 32-50. Aside from the buzzing, the computer is dead silent.

EDIT: Also there's a slight plastic smell in the room like burning plastic but the temps are fine. Could this be due to new parts?
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
  2. Hawk1 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Still need to see system specs. May be the PSU, but I know certain MB (like mine) have been know to make similar sounds.
  3. sai- New Member

Thanks Received:
    Sorry, didn't know I had to select Yes in userCP from the dropdown list.

Specs updated
  4. grunt_408

grunt_408

Thanks Received:
    My old ASROCK used to make noise. Are you using all of the current released drivers?
  5. sai- New Member

Thanks Received:
    Yes, updated everything except BIOS from Gigabyte's website

I did a few tests just a minutes ago using prime95 and memtest, in prime95 it only buzzes when I select "Blend" test and it also buzzes in memtest. Could it be the memory?
  6. Jimmy 2004

Jimmy 2004 New Member

Thanks Received: