1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Empire: Total War Demo Available Now Exclusively on Steam

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,759
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The official demo for Empire: Total War from The Creative Assembly and SEGA is now available on Steam. This free demo provides a short glimpse of the kind of epic engagements available in the full version of Empire: Total War, which will be released on Steam and at retail in early March. The demo offers players the opportunity to take on the American Army and the French Navy from The Creative Assembly's own "home" side, playing as the British Empire in the "Battle of Brandywine Creek" and the "Battle of Lagos."

    Those who pre-purchase Empire: Total War on Steam receive The Creative Assembly's game "Rome Total War Gold Edition" for immediate download. For more information, please visit Steam Games. The Empire: Total War demo can be found here.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,543 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,382
    im totally buying this game when it comes out. i love this franchise!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I'm buying it for the reason it features the 95th rifles, well that and it's the british empire, no true brit could resist it!
     
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    WOOT downloading now @ 1.3mbps :D :D

    hope its good
     
  5. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Lucky **** I've gotta wait 'til tomorow night to have a go.
     
  6. ZoneDymo

    ZoneDymo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    441 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Downloading....now.
     
  7. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    MINE!!!

    Been waiting for this! Thanks Bat!!!!!!
     
  8. NeSeNVi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Does it need 15GB for demo game?
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  9. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Best part of it yep, it's using alot of the features of it probably, as in sea battles and land battles, may be missing models for unused units etc.
     
  10. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I really like this franchise, but i always hate my own units AI, hell when i say move, MOVE, stop means STOP. And i really hated how the huge unit size screwed city battles, they should be able to stand on the entire street, not only on a very narrow line.
     
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I really want to thank Btarunr for this.

    Have been a fan of this series for a long time and this news made me jizz.
     
  12. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Dammit!! Downloading at 10 kb/s!!! Why did I upgraded my ISP just to let Steam screw me? :cry:

    Same.

    But probably brits are the bad guys. :p
     
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    My highest was 394Kb/s, my ISP is Verizon. But they will keep dropping my connection alot of the time on the webs.:(
     
  14. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    You wouldn't know my ISP (Euskaltel), it's Spain here, overseas, so somehow I didn't expect miracle speeds from Steam, but 100 k/s at least... It has reached 60 k/s at some point, but back to 10-30 again.

    It's shit, I got used to the 1.35 MB/s of my new connection too fast hahaha. It used to be 120 k/s.
     
  15. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Maximum speed ahead! (300KB/s).
     
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Says him from the evil spanish empire :rolleyes: poor aztecs didnt stand a chance :laugh:
     
  17. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Aaah yes, but not in this era. :p

    Plus it was not Spain and also in that era the Basque Country was still independent.
     
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    :p Damn spain and its beauty
     
  19. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    servers must be getting full, my download speed started to drop off towards the end from 1.3 to 400kbps
     
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,063 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    big fan here, this demo will let me have a few goes untill the new game is out already pre ordered it
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Looks cool but I'm not downloading a 15gb demo only to get choppy frames. Anyone with a similar system to mine playing it fine at 1920x1080?
     
  22. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    It's 2GB.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Its only 2gb and mines wont start up. At first it crashed in the menu then everytime I start it up it minimises again.
     
  24. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    First of all. Gaagh! Disgusting! You have to be the brits! And battle against the spanish in the tutorial. :roll:

    It runs very well on my comp at 1600x1200 4x 16x and everything on ultra, large units. It does take like forever (minutes) to load after a graphics change and on startup a fair amount of time too. A bug I guess, but other than that is pretty smooth, more than previous ones for my comp. Even better than Rome at the same settings!!! <-- I had to lower the AA, but I guess that had nothing to do with the graphics card...

    The new game mecanics are tricky, I'll have to get used to them before wanting to win the battles as fast as I did in previous games.:eek:

    Other than that, the pace of battles seems to be slower, we'll have to be more patient. Rushing into the enemy has even worse consecuencies and the placement and orientation of your armies is much more important now.

    Going to try the ship battles now. Bye:cool:
     
  25. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    It has just happened that to me. It minimises, but when I click again it enters, but as I said it takes some good time to load, and it's as if the game was freezed, ctrl+alt+del and it's reported as freezed, but don't worry just wait. At least that works for me. Good luck. The game's worth that and more. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page