1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Enabling AHCI on Windows 7 systems with AMD

Discussion in 'Storage' started by de.das.dude, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    I didnt know of this till today.
    this thing rocks. i am getting read/writes of excess of 100MB/s on my 4yr old 80GB itachi and the 500GB WD!

    be sure AHCI is disabled in your BIOS

    1. Goto start.
    2. Type regedit.
    3. Click on regedit.exe
    4. Follow this path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>system>CurrentControlSet>services>msahci

    [​IMG]
    Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

    [​IMG]

    Open system
    [​IMG]

    Open currentcontrolset
    [​IMG]

    Open services
    [​IMG]

    Open/Select msahci
    [​IMG]

    Select start
    [​IMG]

    Right click and select modify
    [​IMG]

    Put in the value 0 in the selected region
    [​IMG]

    Press OK and exit regedit.

    5. Reboot into BIOS.
    6. You will find AHCI under SATA configuration or something like that.
    7. Enable AHCI mode on one group. Connect all HDDs to this group(enable other groups if necessary). Note Optical Drives may/may not work with AHCI.
    8. Save BIOS settings and reboot into Windows.
    9. Windows will ask to restart to apply changes. Do EET!!
    10. After rebooting, goto your motherboard product page and download the latest AHCI/RAID driver.
    11. Will probably be in a zip file. extract it to some C:\temp (say)
    12. Open Device Manager.
    13. Click on the IDE/ATAPI controlers.
    14. Select the AHCI controller ( it will be named AHCI<something>)
    15. Right click, select update drivers
    16. Select "Browse my computer for software" Option.
    17. Point to the c:\temp folder which contains drivers. Press ok. Your Drivers will be automatically installed.
    18. Reboot as necessary.
    19. Enjoy new write Speeds.
    20. Spread the love :toast:
    FishHead69, chudddds, Dos101 and 2 others say thanks.
  2. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,171 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    You wrote and presented all the instructions super awesome :)
    brandonwh64, chudddds and de.das.dude say thanks.
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Not that there isn't any info about that on the internet, but still very good job. :toast:
    In my case, I have still to find a way to enable AHCI on (mobile) platforms with nVidia chipsets. :(
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  4. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    I forgot to install the AHCI driver during my last Windows intallation and now I want to enable AHCI mode.
    Do I need the driver to enable AHCI mode in the bios? and what happens if I enable AHCI mode without the driver?
    What's the difference with the AHCI driver my motherboard ships with?
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,909 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
    you should not need todo anything other then enable ACHI in the bios and possibly install the chipset drivers ... on windows 7 at least
    the absolutely worst thing that's gonna happen is that it might not boot in achi mode ... there's a registry fix for that iirc
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,727 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\pciide

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\iaStorV

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\iaStor

    I believe these cover Intel, AMD, and nVidia(not totally sure on nVidia). Just change the Start value in each of these to 0. Also, this allows you to go from AHCI to RAID as well.

    Even with Win7 it sometimes won't boot. This is the registry fix.
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    ok, sorry this has always confused me. could somebody give a layman's answer to what AHCI is and how is differs from RAID and other things in the bios? Also, why would I need to disable AHCI in bios but enable in Windows??
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,136 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    The Advanced Host Controller Interface (AHCI) is a technical standard defined by Intel that specifies the operation of Serial ATA (SATA) host bus adapters in a non-implementation-specific manner.

    The specification describes a system memory structure for computer hardware vendors to exchange data between host system memory and attached storage devices. AHCI gives software developers and hardware designers a standard method for detecting, configuring, and programming SATA/AHCI adapters. AHCI is separate from the SATA 3Gb/s standard, although it exposes SATA's advanced capabilities (such as hot swapping and native command queuing) such that host systems can utilize them.
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,909 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Rochester area
  11. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe

    As far as I know, the native driver offers better performance and compatibility than standard driver is windows. It is better to download the latest driver from the official website of the motherboard manufacturer.
    Then you need to run Microsoft FixIt, which would make the necessary changes to the registry automatically.
    You must then reboot and enable AHCI in the BIOS.
    If you enable AHCI in the BIOS without changing the registry, then when you boot, you will get the message "OS not found" or something like that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    That was very nice, because before that I couldn't enable AHCI in BIOS for my netbook, or Winows would refuse to boot

    Many thanks :)
  13. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    It is strongly recommended to enable AHCI if you are using SSD (of course, if you want it to work more than a month and show the best performance). In addition, AHCI allows "hot swapping" drives without turning off the computer and some other functions.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    what if i have just a regular platter type sata 3 drive?
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,727 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    It is still a good idea to enable AHCI, as it gives the system access to most of the advantages SATA offers such as NCQ and Hot Swapping. It won't make a huge difference, but still worth it. In fact, I think Native Command Queuing only really helps with traditional hard drives.
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    the driver that comes with windows isnt really good.
    the one that comes with the motherboard shows the real performance, well, thats what i have heard.
    Daimus says thanks.
  17. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,206
    That registry trick won't work with recent drivers, it bsods, however I didn't try Microsoft's fixit tool
  18. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Hmm try installing the native chip-set drivers before changing the key
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,077 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have to try the recommendations. Nice post.
  20. chudddds New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    worked for me on a :

    ASUS CM1740 Desktop
    ASUS A75-M mobo
    Win 7 Home Prem 64 bit

    got the latest bios from asus

    latest ahci driver package from amd

    no problems at all

    thanx OP
  21. chudddds New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Works for my DVDRW also !!!!


    just to add to your note about optical drives, it worked for mine:

    DH24ABS (thats a rebadged model number for a LiteOn)

    ASUS CM1740 desktop
    ASUS A75-M mobo (FM1)
    Win 7 home prem 64 bit

    new bios from asus, new ahci drivers from amd, worked flawless !!!!!!!!

    brought my sata controller drivers up to Jan, 2012
  22. FishHead69

    FishHead69

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Rocky,QLD,AU
    Cheers de.das.dude . Worked a treat :toast:

    I know it's a old thread , but had to bump

    Cheers :lovetpu:
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,086 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,377
    Shoot before i even installed windows id set Ahci on install windows and installed chipset drivers

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page