1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Enemy Territory : QUAKE Wars - Is anyone actualy playing this game?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Sovereign, Oct 19, 2007.

?

Have you or do you plan to purchase/play Enemy Territory : QUAKE Wars?

Poll closed Dec 18, 2007.
  1. Yes, I am currently playing the game (or plan to)

    28.0%
  2. No, I am not currently playing the game (but plan to)

    12.0%
  3. I have no intention to play this game, now or in the near future!

    60.0%
  1. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Welp, as the title suggests, I was wondering if anyone is actualy playing this game and/or doing so on a regular basis? This game kinda came and went without so much as a whimper from most of you folks and I was wondering why!? I remember not so long ago, most of you were highly anticipating this game and even went as far to say it would be better than Battlefield 2142? Do you still think this is the case? For me, the real reason I'm giving this game a shot atm is because of the fun I had playing the original Wolfenstein : Enemy Territory.

    Just curious! :eek:
     
  2. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    The game itself isn't that original and to be honest it feels allot like BF2. However it feels very polished for what it is and is a worthwhile playing experience.
     
  3. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I couldn't agree more! It's just that I remember so many folks saying that this will be better than Battlefield2/2142 regardless of the simularities! I'm wondering if many still feel this way now that the game is out!?
     
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Yes I play regularly, and very much enjoy. dont have BF2142, but think the game is nice and I enjoy the teamwork
     
  5. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    I still much prefer the original bf2. But I've been playing the demo of ETQW and am thinking of getting it. However I might get the orange box instead and play TF2 as my multiplayer of choice.
     
  6. bassmasta Guest

    I didn't like the way they handled the sniper, so I don't think I'll be buying it
     
  7. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,378 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    Ditto on The Orange Box. I frequent to my buddy's dorm a lot more now that he got it :D

    I don't think any other game comes close to being as fun as TF2 atm.
     
  8. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    I bought the Orange Box and it is well worth it, TF2 is just an awesome game in itself not to mention everything else that comes with.
     
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    The problem is not that Quake Wars is bad...it's that TF2 is so much better and a lot more fun, and they were released so close together...
     
  10. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Plays like a well-polished, but still clunky clone of Battlefield 2. Not as much freedom in the gameplay, not worth $60.
     
  11. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    sadly, tf2 got my attention way more than this game :(
     
  12. Sable711 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Because of Windows Vista I am not able to run BF2142 so QuakeWars realy takes over and I tried the demo for a week and I had to get the full version. I was not sorry I did as it is easy to understand and it handles great on my XPS 720 with SLI 8600GTS. I say if you like 2142 you will like this one.
     
  13. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    There's no reason 2142 can't run under vista.
     
  14. Sable711 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I install 2142 it says its not win32 but I install it anyway. When I launched the game I see Error with file ZLIB122.DLL and game will not open. If you can help let me know what is causing this error.
     
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Quake wars looks too much like 2142 imo,at least ut3 looks like ut.Qw does not even have no look of quake,so nope.
     
  16. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    been playing it for a while with tf2 i find them both really fun
     
  17. bassmasta Guest

    well, then you should say that there is a problem in your system thats stopping bf2142 from playing. don't blame a good OS for that
     
  18. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    To run bf2 or 2142, you have to right click the bf2142.exe and go to properties
    Go to the 'compatibility' tab

    Click the boxes:
    Disable desktop composition
    Disable display scaling on high dpi settings


    That worked for me on bf2, now it plays nicely :D
     
  19. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    im playing ET:QW regular ,ive always been a DM fan tbh Q2,Q3,Q4 etc but have decided to try this.

    prob just me but i find it rather confusing to play ,but ill keep plugging away and see if it grabs me :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page