1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Enhanced EIST not working properly?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Laurijan, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Hi!

    With the system in my specs I got a wierd "problem". My CPU (C2D Q6600) supports Intels Enhanced EIST mode in which multiplier and voltage is adjusted depending on load in small increments, also my mobo supports Enhanced EIST.

    I run WinXP x32 now and have enabled Enhanced EIST in the WinXP power-managment but for some reason when I check the CPU speed with CPU-Z for example I only can see 2 different MHz amounts, 1600MHz idle (multi 6x) and 2400MHz (multi 9x) under load - no small increments whatsoever.

    I even used a program called CPUKiller3 to put different CPU loads on the Q6600 but it will not increase steadily but just jump to max speed.

    In Bios I tried to put C1E on auto and disabled mode but nothing changes.

    The only reason I call this a problem is that the drastic jumps in MHz seem to make my system a little laggy.

    Thx for all insights!
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    That is the multi stepping mine uses as well with EIST enabled in the BIOS anyway. I don't believe there is anything in between.

    I have never experience any lag but then mine E6600 is pretty overclocked so it idles at 2400 and loads at 3600.
    Laurijan says thanks.
  3. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    This is from SpeedStep Wiki site which states that at lease V3.1 uses many steps so why not Enhanced EIST too:

    Versions

    V1.1 is used by second generation Pentium III processors. It enables the CPU to switch between two modes: high and low frequency. This is done by modifying the CPU's multiplier. A 1 GHz Pentium III consuming about 20 watts could be reduced to 600 MHz which reduces the power consumption to about 6 watts.
    V2.1 (Enhanced SpeedStep) is used in Pentium III-Mobile processors and is similar to the previous version, but in the low frequency mode the CPU also uses a different voltage than the high frequency mode.
    V2.2 is adapted for Pentium 4-Mobile processors. With this, a 1.8 GHz Pentium 4-M consuming about 30 watts can lower its frequency to 1.2 GHz, thus reducing power consumption to about 20 watts.
    V3.1 (EIST) is used with the first and second generation of Pentium M processors (Banias and Dothan cores, used in Centrino platforms). With this technology, the CPU varies its frequency (and voltage) between about 40% and 100% of its base frequency in increments of 100 MHz (for Banias core) or 133 MHz (for Dothan core). With this technology, Intel also introduces realtime Level 2 cache capacity variation, further improving power savings.
    V3.2 (Enhanced EIST) is adapted for multi-core processors with unified Level 2 cache.
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Most of that is dealing with mobile CPU's tho minus the last one.

    We are both on the same chipset and I have never seen mine use anything but 6x or 9x
    I am on Win7 now but it was no different when I was on XP.

    Any reason you make any attempt at overclocking? I mean I have Aida running on my G15 so I have my CPU clocks, temps, etc on screen at all times and I see my clocks go up and down all the time(say a load screen between levels in a game for example) and I have never noticed lag.
    Laurijan says thanks.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    On the desktop processors there is nothing in between, just 6 and 9(or whatever your highest multiplier is). The power savings here isn't worth the effort to do in-between steps. In fact, there isn't a drastic power saving even with the huge speed jump, I just turn it off completely.
    Laurijan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well my CPU voltages drop so I look at it as every little bit counts. It sits at 1.21v@2400Mhz
    Tho overall I do agree. Most people say using EIST with an OC makes it unstable but I have always used it since I built it and have had it OC'd since I built it(was 3.2 but hey its old and on water so I figured I would push it as far as it would go)
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    you need to adjust you're power plan settings in the windows CP to make it work
    power options > change plan settings > advanced > processor power management > set to 1% - 100%
    Laurijan says thanks.
  8. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    This might work in Win7 but I don´t have those options in XP, but thanks for the tip - next time I install 7 I have a look at it.
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    xp has a similar option
  10. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Intalled Win7 on another HDD and it has those features but whatever I set for minimum processor state or maximum processor state - it dont affect EIST at all in my case :confused:
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    is it enabled in the bios
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    the only options in EIST back then was one high and one low setting sounds like its working perfectly for you
    Laurijan says thanks.
  13. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Maybe I just let this mystery rest
  14. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    This.

    I assure you it will only use those 2 Multipliers.
  15. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    926 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Check out,

    RealTemp 3.67
    http://www.mediafire.com/?n99nq4kn95u6i6a

    It uses high performance timers within the Intel CPUs and can accurately track EIST speed transitions.

    Just because CPU-Z doesn't report something doesn't mean it didn't happen. :)
  16. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I am using Aida64 and watching this in real time on my G15.

    There are only 2 speeds either 6x or 9x there is no in between ;)

    He is on the exact chipset I'm on so I'm not mistaken.

    Even if I put it into "Power Saver" Mode it will still only drop the multi to 6x.
  17. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Maybe having 2 steps only can benefit the e-bill so I don´t complain anymore :) Thx guys for all info!
  18. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    926 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Enhanced Intel® SpeedStep® Technology

    Multiple frequency and voltage points for optimal performance and power efficiency. These operating points are known as P-states.

    Because there is low transition latency between P-states, a significant number of transitions per second are possible.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    When software samples a CPU once per second or once every 5 seconds, it's not capable of accurately reporting the intermediate multipliers during a SpeedStep transition. That doesn't prove that the intermediate multipliers are not being used.

    Here's the latest version of AIDA64 telling me that my T8100 mobile CPU is using a 23 multiplier and is running at 4587.2 MHz.

    [​IMG]

    Very impressive but it's not true. It's not a good idea to believe everything that software tells you.
    Laurijan says thanks.
  19. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    In short: SpeedStep in my case is working in many steps but CPU-Z for example is to slow to show them all?
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    cpuz calculates in real time

    just forget about it man EIST never worked correct on the early core chips
  21. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Again unclewebb that is Mobile CPU's. Different animal. My Turion 64 X2 can go all over the place too. doesn't apply to C2's.

    Like OneMoar said it never really worked well. I have a mate that built a similar rig to mine only using a Gigabyte board and he could never get his to work properly.
    Mine works and so does Laurijan's as advertised.
  22. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    256
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    My Q6600 only does 2 steps if i set the options in bios.
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  23. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    926 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    In the RealTemp download is a program called i7 Turbo GT. It was originally designed for the Core i7 CPUs but it is also very accurate on the older Core 2 based CPUs

    It uses the high performance monitoring timers that Intel builds into their CPUs so rapid multiplier transitions can be accurately measured. i7 Turbo GT calculates the average multiplier during each 1 second sampling period. It is accurate enough that it can show you problems like this:

    [​IMG]

    A Core 2 Quad consists internally of two separate Core 2 Duo CPUs. Not many people know this but you can run these two dual cores independently at completely different speeds. In the above example, one of the dual core CPUs within this quad is operating with the 7 multiplier while the other dual core is using an 11 multiplier. AIDA64 isn't designed to be able to show you stuff like this. CPU-Z can show you this if you have two instances of CPU-Z open and each version is set to read one of the dual cores.

    i7 Turbo GT can also show you when your CPU is doing rapid C State transitions. CPU-Z has chosen to ignore the rapid multiplier transitions that happen in these CPUs for consistent validation purposes. Sometimes what's really going on inside a CPU is "too much information" and some software has decided to keep it simple.
    Laurijan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page