1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Enlarged Cursor with new AMD 7790

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mrwizard200, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Had a friend a few years back with a 5770 that did the same thing.I fixed it with a motherboard BIOS update at the time but I think AMD released a driver to fix the issue also.
     
  2. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Just for the hell of it did you try your other PCI-E slot?
     
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    What are you guys smoking?????Bios would not have anything to do with curser. You probably have software taking over your mouse. Look at your control panel and see if you have software installed that may be taking control
     
  4. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Did you read their first post?No you didnt..so whats the point of being rude?

    FRESH INSTALL OF OS!


    And obviously you dont know what BIOS mean :rolleyes:
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,052 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    no..no..

    There is no magical "make my mouse bigger" option in the bios sir.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    I know that.
    Some how the vga bios conflicts with the IRQs in the main board bios and causes it.
     
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    :toast:
     
  8. mrwizard200

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    85 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I tried reinstalling the old drives from the CD...nothing.
    removed card, checked connection....nothing
    windows update...nothing.
    ran virus checks, spyware...nothing.

    I am almost 100% positive this is a driver issue at least specific to this model. When removing the drivers, the mouse went back to normal when the catalyst dialog pops up asking for a reboot.

    I am taking it back because I am out of ideas
     
  9. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    644
    Do you have LCD overdrive enabled in the Catalyst control panel?
     
  10. mrwizard200

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    85 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    checked that as well. Nothing.

    There is another 7790 from MSI planning to get. I really hope there are no issues with that.
    There is also a GTX 650Ti..
    What do you guys think of the GTX650ti? the only game I play is Battlefield 3.
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
  12. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    yep.thats what i would do.


    There was only 4 things that would help back when it first started.

    Driver Fix
    Motherboard BIOS update
    VGA BIOS update

    and some people that was using a USB mouse could put on a mouse port adapter and connect it too a mouse port that would solve it also


    Only driver for Win8 pro http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/RadeonHD7790CatalystPerformanceDriver.aspx

    The 7790 still has its own drop down box in Video card hardware selection?Hasnt this card been out a couple of months now? 13.4 and Beta 13.6 also support it
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  13. mrwizard200

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    85 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    After a 40m trip to Microcenter and $25 more, I bought a MSI 7790 and to my surprise, it has the same issue. I am now 100% sure this is a driver bug like the one AMD had before except this one is specially for the 7790 as my previous 7770 didnt do this.
    Now, the only way to actually test this is if those who have a 7790
    go to your mouse settings and uncheck the mouse shadow setting. If the mouse is enlarged, then we know it is a driver issue.
    I am beginning to suspect most people have their mouse shadow setting enabled. When enabled, the regular pointer doesnt blow up. When viewing documents and typing somewhere, the "text select" pointer is bigger than usual. Also the little magnifier on imgur is bigger as well. Mouse cursor is bigger in games too.

    I had my mouse shadow disabled so it blew up right away...:banghead:

    Shame.. I really like the 7790 because overall it is faster than the GTX 650ti.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,538 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,716
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    just checking, but whats this set to?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. mrwizard200

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    85 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  16. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,429 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Might take a while, but would try opening a support ticket with both MSI and AMD. Share the link to this thread, and that you've opened a ticket with each company (tell AMD you opened one with MSI and vice versa with MSI). Hate to see you have to constantly drive a long distance and spend more money just to get this sorted.
     
  17. mrwizard200

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    85 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks for the suggestion. I submitted a ticket to AMD and MSI.
    AMD Tech Support emailed back with a list of suggestions such as re installing drivers and such. Pretty much things I already tried. I emailed back and I just got an email with a link to submit feedback to their driver development team.
    We'll see how it goes.
    I am looking into a GTX 650ti Boost now. So my hopes for a quick resolution arent high as the previous similar took took a while to fix.
     
  18. Tomas Fucik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gigabyte 7790 big size mouse

    Hello,
    Yesterday I bought a graphic Gigabyte 7790, install drivers and my mouse cursor larger. I changed the settings in the Control Panel and cursor resize to normall size, but in Word 2013 and games make larger cursor. :banghead:

    I do not know what to do, someone already knows the solution?

    Thanx :respect:
     
  19. Blín D'ñero

    Blín D'ñero

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    248 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Netherlands
    For anyone to give an at least relevant reply, you should post your system specs (which of course include OS, driver version, CCC settings, monitor model and resolution, mouse/keyboard)...
     
  20. tezzatheman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Fixed it for me...

    Hi,

    Had exactly the same issue with an enlarged mouse cursor as others have described. Have a Samsung Syncmaster 2494HS connected over HDMI, and an old Dell monitor connected over DVI to the same Asus HD7790 Direct CU II OC. Running Win7 x64.

    Updated to the latest 13.11 Beta from here: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/amd_catalyst_13.11_betav1.exe

    Still had exactly the same large mouse pointer issue. I then went into Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Personalization and into Change Mouse Pointers, and then changed my Scheme to '(None)' and clicked apply. I then selected 'Windows Aero (system scheme)' and clicked Apply. I then clicked on the 'Use Default' button next to 'Enable Pointer Shadow', then turned off the 'Enable Pointer Shadow' and clicked apply. Then I turned on the 'Enable Pointer Shadow' and clicked apply.

    At that point my mouse cursor went back to normal size! It's extremely weird that those steps described above fixed it, but they did. I haven't rebooted yet, but will try that next and see if it has permanently fixed the problem. Hopefully it has.

    Posting the exact steps I took just in case it helps someone else out.

    Cheers

    T
     
    trodas, Arjai and Mussels say thanks.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,538 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,716
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    thanks for that. this problem seems to haunt some people.
     
  22. tezzatheman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Update....

    [Update] - I rebooted and it kept the fixed settings. I still had a large 'finger' cursor though. I went back into Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Personalization and into Change Mouse Pointers, and then I clicked on the 'Link Select' cursor and clicked the 'Use Default' button. When I did that the 'finger' cursor went back to normal size.

    I also had the same problem with still having a large text select mouse cursor. But weirdly clicking on the 'Link Select' cursor and then the 'Use Default' button doesn't fix the Text select cursor at all! But, I'm a lot happier with all but one of the mouse cursors being normal sized :).

    The scenarios as tested are:
    - The problem only affects my HDMI connected flat-screen when connected to the AMD HD7790
    - I have my desktop extended across both screens (using the same AMD7790) and only the HDMI screen has the large mouse cursor issue
    - The built in motherboard graphics (Intel HD4000) run in the same fashion doesn't have a problem at all. The cursors are all fine.
    - I can reliably make the problem happen by changing the Samsung 2494HS to the HDMI connector on the AMD HD7790, with no other changes.

    From all of this I can only conclude that:
    - The problem is something to do with either the AMD HD7790 video card drive, or
    - The problem is with the firmware (or hardware) of the HDMI part of HD7790 chipsets (as shown in post #38 above - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2928798&postcount=38)

    Hope that AMD find out what the issue is as its quite annoying....

    Cheers

    T
     
  23. asha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just have the exacly same problem.
    Yestarday i bought the SAPPHIRE 7790 1GB and my mouse cursor just gone HUGE.This happens when i installed drivers.When it was w/o drivers it was fine but now the damn cursor is so damn huge. Did you find any solution?
     
  24. Blín D'ñero

    Blín D'ñero

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    248 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well if you care to read a few posts back...
     
  25. asha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yep i did that, nothing happens :/
    i followed steps 1 by 1 as he said.But my english suck as much as him :p so i hope i didn't miss anything,but really i don't think this is the solution anyway
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page