1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EP43-UD3L good board??

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by JanJan, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,900 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,308
    4 pin mobo connector, cheaper caps, smaller phase design. Not necessarily a good overclocking board no. A P45 board would be better. P43 is a scaled down board meant to be cheap.
     
  3. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    so does it worth an upgrade for $50 ?
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,900 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,308
    From what you have now. No, not at all.
     
  5. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    You would need an EP45-UD3R or UD3P for the upgrade to be worthwhile. And even then it's like why don't you upgrade your CPU first, etc.
     
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,119 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    if you dont have the cash to go i7, the board in my specs + a e8400 or an 8600 and u have a solid dual core machine
     
  7. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Why "cheap caps" ?
     
  8. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    They didn't use the same grade of capacitors on those boards as they do on P45/new boards. They are solid but that doesn't make them the same quality.
     
    r9 says thanks.
  9. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    I've got my X3220 Xeon @ 50% OC to 3.6GHZ, Prime stable ATM on this board maxed it at 3.7GHZ with 1.6V.
    The board is a "cheap" solid board, im using it as a filler mobo. It doesnt squeal like some cheapo mobo's do when you up the Voltage to much.

    Only thing is that the Voltage for Cpu goes to 1.6V in increments then it just jumps to 1.8 then 2.0V, lol. It has plenty of Ram Strap/Dividers to choose from and some ram tweaks in the bios.
     
  10. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    And how can recognize which are more and which less quality ones. Sure every brand says my are high quality ?
     
  11. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    -talking about cpu upgrade, can i go with chips having 1333 bus speed? my mobo says it does support but i kinda doubt it.

    -And if i do change my cpu, i don't have to reinstall os right? i have read somewhere that sometime it does... just making sure

    -how about a GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R ?
     
  12. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page