1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EP45-UD3P BIOS ID Check Error

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by guitarfreaknation, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    I have tried using 3 different USB drives and I cannot update my BIOS to F8,F9,or F10. I format all of them with FAT32 option. Copy BIOS files to it. Go to QFlash and get the same Error! I am current on F7 Bios. Any thoughts?

    EDIT: I used one of those drives before to flash bios to F7
     
    qubit says thanks.
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,172 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,725
    Try downloading from a different mirror/server and try again.
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,451 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    you got anything else on the usb drives / usb flash drives you are trying to flash the bios with?
     
  4. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    with bios updates: if it aint broke dont fix it.

    make sure your following the instructions properly? i always get the manual out and make sure i follow it word for word, never had an issue updating bios when its been needed
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  5. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Well I format then copy the 3 BIOS files (F8,F9.F10)

    I did copy just the F10 but still no luck.
     
  6. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    I was hoping that a bios update would be beneficial to my overclocking.


    If it aint broke, fix it till it breaks. :D Saw this in someone sig...
     
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,842 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I've got the DDR2 version of this mobo - fantastic, init? :rockout:

    Is your CPU overclocked? If so, put everything back to defaults and try again.

    Also, why don't you try updating the BIOS from within Windows? There's not much risk of bricking your PC from a corrupted update and you've got the awesome dual BIOS feature to protect against this, anyway.

    Try to get the BIOS file from another server, as theonedub said.

    Good luck. :toast:
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  8. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Yeah the MoBo is awesome so far.

    Thanks for the useful tips.
     
  9. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK

    correct me if i misunderstood, your copying 3 bios files to your usb? why?

    you can only update to one of those bios files: so its F8 or F9 or F10.

    whats your current bios?
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  10. Pickles24

    Pickles24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    167 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    The ATL
    Have you tried the @bios utility in windows?
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  11. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Maybe the USB stick needs NTFS format?
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  12. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    1. From GIGABYTE's website, download the latest compressed BIOS update file that matches your motherboard model.
    2. Extract the file and save the new BIOS file (e.g. ep45ud3p.f1) to your floppy disk, USB flash drive, or hard drive.
    Note: The USB flash drive or hard drive must use FAT32/16/12 file system.
    3. Restart the system. During the POST, press the <End> key to enter Q-Flash.
    4. In the main menu of Q-Flash, use the up or down arrow key to select Update BIOS from Drive and press <Enter>.
    5. Select drive containing bios and press Enter
    6. Select the BIOS update file and press <Enter>.

    The process of the system reading the BIOS file from the floppy disk is displayed on the screen. When the message "Are you sure to update BIOS?" appears, press <Enter> to begin the BIOS update. The monitor will display the update process.

    When the update process is complete, press any key to return to the main menu.


    Instructions from: http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/Manual/motherboard_manual_ga-ep45-ud3p_e.pdf
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  13. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    My bios is F7, I was trying to get any newer bios to install but they all fail.
     
  14. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca


    Ive done this before many times. I have 3 drives, 2x 16GB and a 4 gig. Still noe go. Weird stuff...
     
  15. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    what error are you getting btw?
     
  16. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    "BIOS ID Check Error"

    Maybe because BIOS settings are not at default? (OCed my chip)
     
  17. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    sorry just realised the error in the title!

    your definitely sure you've got the correct bios for the revision of your board?
    as ive noticed in your system spec your board is EP45T-UD3P and for this thread you've said EP45-UD3P
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  18. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca

    WOW>>>> I just noticed I was looking at the ep45 bios and my board is EP45T

    Im am such an idiot... :banghead:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,842 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    sh!t, I saw the discrepancy too and thought you just made a typo! <slaps head> :)

    All I had to say was something like "Please check that you're using the correct BIOS for the correct board, DDR2 or DDR3". Guess we're all human. :)

    At the risk of asking the obvious, have you been able to update the BIOS now?
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  20. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca

    I was trying to force that bios down its throat... :roll:

    Well I think I learned an important lesson here.

    EDIT: Didnt try to update because the latest BIOS for ep45t is beta.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i was have same as your mobo, there is something im sure u did but to be sure are load fail save defaults in bios before flashing
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  22. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    hey just saw your reply !

    amazing i didnt realise the fix was going to be that simple. and dont worry - we all make mistakes! as long we learn from them!
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page