1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Error: CPU Fan is not working

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kantastic, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I just installed a used HDT-S963 I bought off a TPU member and every time I boot I get that message and my computer shuts down. It will work if I flick the PSU switch off then back on again. Reinstalled the stock HSF and did not have this problem.

    Would you guys think it's the fan on the 963?
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,786 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,166
    Is the fan running? Go into your bios and set it to ignore the CPU fan if it is.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Yes the fan is running, slow, but running. Let me see if I have that option.

    @erocker: Thanks for you know what!

    Edit: No I don't have the option of turning off CPU fan. (Options are grayed out.) It only works when I reset the power supply! A real hassle for me.

    Well CPU 1 which is the CPU fan is running at 320 RPM idle according to SpeedFan and slowly climbs to 480 RPM on 100% load using OCCT. Could this be a faulty fan? It doesn't seem like it's moving much air either, I can easily stop the fan simply by placing my finger in the middle of it where the blades aren't and applying very little, if any, force. It does move a lot of air when I reset the power supply, I feel the airflow.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2009
  4. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    ^_^ Anybody have any solutions? Or should I just buy a new fan.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,786 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,166
    Try to find out what motherboard you have and I can find the setting for you. The board could be just automatically setting the fan speed, though the fan could be bad too.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  6. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    make sure Cool and Quiet is turned off then turn off monater cpu fan or what ever its called
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I don't have this option. This is an old, old motherboard. The options are grayed out.

    The old 80mm fan on the stock cooler works fine, both 4 pin connectors but this one is 92mm. For some reason it's only spinning at 3xx-4xx RPM rather than the rated 1200 - 2800 RPM.

    Edit: erocker: ASUS Nodusm BIOS 3.04 Rev A2.
     
  8. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Cool and Quiet is Greyed out?
     
  9. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I don't even see that option there.
     
  10. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Is it a custom built computer? or is it like a Dell or somthing?
     
  11. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    It's in a Gateway case though all the stickers are ripped off so I can't find the exact model. I got this 2-3 years back when I was computer retarded.
     
  12. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    some generic brands have there own bios and you cant change certin options, sounds like that could be your problem.
    Check the cpu temp while that fans sipnning at 400rpm , if its not hot run Prime95 and see if the fanspeeds up as the cpu gets hotter
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  13. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    reseat the CPU fan connector if you haven't done yet. as erocker said there should be an option in bios were you can disable the CPU Fan detection at startup. If all fails you can just replace the Fan.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  14. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I use OCCT to put it under 100% load and it goes up to 480 RPM max. Temp on the core is 50C.
     
  15. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    bugger, get a new fan or take the old one off of old heatsync and put that on it :)
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    put the old cooler back on than connect the slow fan to one of the other mobo fan headers (straight off one of the 4 pin molex 's from the PS is best if you have the adaptor)

    see if its still that slow.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  17. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i think your cool and quiet is working fine as you said the fan speed is increasing under load and your cpu is not going over 50c. i doubt your cpu fan will hit full speed until your cpu is at 60 or 70c.

    as for the no cpu fan error message i think the fan speed is below the no fan warning speed of the bios. because a stock cooler wont go under about 1000rpm normally but you are using a far more efficient heatsink and fan that only needs to run @ 400 rpm so it thinks the fan is going far to slow or stopped .
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  18. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Stock = 80mm
    S963 = 92MM
    :cry:


    Wait wait this is confusing. I put the stock cooler back on then connect which fan where?

    No adapter btw!

    I have a rear fan that runs at around 1000RPM but moves literally no air. Maybe if I connect the rear fan to the CPU fan header it'll read as 1000RPM and let me go. But then I'm afraid the actual CPU fan won't run at a higher RPM when I'm under load.
    :banghead::banghead:
     
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Ok put the 80mm back on the CPU (as its the only one that works good right now)

    Take the 92mm fan and plug it into another fan header on the mobo. Check to see if it spins good there.

    Does the 92mm fan have a 4 pin plug or is it 3 pins?
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  20. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Both stock cooler and S963 have 4 pin plugs.
     
  21. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    like i said before the 80mm has a higher rpm because its a smaller fan the 92mm fan is a silent fan that is being plugged into a gateway motherboard that is programed to think that its a fan failure because of the low rpm fan
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  22. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I either have to buy a new fan or keep resetting my PSU to boot... heck I might return this heatsink as it wasn't the one advertised. I'm just waiting for the seller's reply. Thanks for the input guys!
     
  23. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    One question: What are the chances that the fan is thermally controlled and simply not registering a high enough temperature to cause the fan to reach decent rpms the fins on a tower cooler already disipate a lot of heat on their own so the fan would basically be detecting the case temp and not the cpu temp making it spin too slow.
     
  24. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    If I purchase a 3pin fan and connect it to a 3pin header, does that mean it will spin at 100% all the time?
     
  25. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    if the fan was the problem than that will fix it. But it would be better and faster to plug the fan into a 12V header just to see if its really the prob.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page