1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Esata external HDD, How to make esata work?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by n-ster, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    So I have 2 External Hard drives....one has esata, the other Firewire, I cannot seem to make them work! I can only use them with USB
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2010
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Here's the thing with eSATA from what I've found.

    Most computer treat eSATA just like SATA, meaning you have to have the drive fully powered on before the machine is turned on. Also, you might have to go into disk management and rescan disks for Windows to find it.

    Also, your post is extremely confusing.
    n-ster says thanks.
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Didn't think of that lol thxs

    tried to clear it up :eek: English is my 3rd language, it can come out weirdly sometimes
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    eSATA is far from plug-n-play. It's worth it if you want quicker than USB 2 speeds though.
    n-ster says thanks.
  5. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    you need to make sure you have ahci mode enabled on your board first for best "plug and play" results. sometimes its not always the case either. like DD said sometimes you have to rescan for devices in device manager under windows
    n-ster says thanks.
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Let us know if those tricks work for ya :)
    n-ster says thanks.
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    AHCI limited my transfers to 1.3MBps weirly, and caused crashing problems n freezing... but plugged in before comp starts works thxs :D

    probably the same thing for firewire? will check another day
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    You shouldn't really switch from IDE to AHCI right off the bat. You should do a full reformat of your OS drive before switching. At least that's what I read.
    n-ster says thanks.
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    the OS? you mean the external HDD?
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I heard to not just go into the BIOS and switch from IDE to AHCI because Windows will have trouble unless it was installed while the drive was on AHCI.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Did you make sure to go through your manual to make sure you have the bios option(s) enabled for esata to work. You should'nt need AHCI mode to make it work. To be safe, just shut the power down on the dock/external case before unplugging it.

    Firewire is labeled as 1394 in your bios. You need to enable that.
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    they are both enabled...

    sata and esata are different.... besides, my sata / windows are on AHCI mode

    the esata external HHD works on IDE when on before PC... firewire, I haven't tried yet

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page