1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ethernet controllers problems

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Dillinger, May 5, 2011.

  1. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    HI i have an Acer Aspire that I reinstalled WIn 7, and everything works but for one thing. The Ethernet Controller in Device Manager has that terrible (!) next to it and it says no drivers installed. I have scoured the internet for this driver or a solution I have been to the acer website and downloaded almost everything from that and installed it. My question is....is the driver for that in the "Chipset" driver package?
    i have spent hours on this and i cant find any solution. i have done all that going to the website suport page and following the clicks notebook-->Aspire-->Aspire 7741z and downloaded some stuff but there isnt anythign there that says "Ethernet controller" this is an Acer Aspire 7741z-5731
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    depends it could be wireless or wired,if wired it might be part of the chipset wireless wont be part of it. Best thing to do is right click go to properties and grab the hardware ID and then type that into google
    Dillinger says thanks.
  3. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    ok thank you Its the Ethernet Controller where you plug into the CAT. 5 cable. Wireless works just fine
  4. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    Device/NTPNP_PC10019 that did do anything for any searches. man the internet is fludded with scan driver garbage :(
  5. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
  6. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    wow thank you let me do this and i'll let you know.
  7. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    didnt work:confused:
  8. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
    Very strange, 133mb download (x86/x64) lan driver, and it isnt working :confused:

    either ur ethernetcard/cat5 cable went somewhere like lappyheaven, but seems like its time to contact Acer about it, i cant figure it out as those should work according to Acer.

    Oh try disabling the wireless while installing.
    Dillinger says thanks.
  9. Ptep Guest

    Most broadcom lan drivers have to be installed manually, so...

    http://global-download.acer.com/GDF...6843&Step1=Notebook&Step2=Aspire&Step3=Aspire 7741Z&OS=722&LC=en&BC=Acer&SC=EMEA_27

    Thats the driver, download and unzip to a folder then head to device manager, right click the network adapter and click on update driver, then click on browse, then 'let me pick from a list...', then 'have a disk', then browse to the folder with the windows 7 inf file in, and done! :)

    Edit: that link didnt copy over, so go to the acer downloads page find your laptop and download the broadcom lan driver half way down the page (133.4MB in size)
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2011
  10. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    thats what i have been doing is going to the device mgr and clicking the the let me choose. but it always says "windows can not install your ethernet controller. And there the Ethernet Controller isnt in the list..im going to be working on this all night. I just got back from work.
  11. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    the link works fine..i clicked and instant DN thanks..so lets see again what happens
  12. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    278 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    wow it worked I dont know Windows 7 very well and im getting to know it since iv'e gotten the OS, i have to say that its so far the best OS Microsoft has ever put out. Thats in My humble opinion. And thank you very much for the help, its much appreciated. :respect:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page