1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ethernet port works intermittently

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by finding Zzero, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. finding Zzero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've checked the forum for this issue. Not sure I found the answer. This problem occurs occassionally. I lose internet connectivity. The network shows an unplugged cable(not true). I've tried other cables no joy. THe local area connection is shown as down (realtek PCIe GBE family controller). Device manager says the card? is working. The ethernet port is not blinking when this happens. Winxp, motorola surfboard modem, netgear wireless router. Wireless works when this happens (at least yesterday). This has been happening for a long while. I thought it was my cable provider. Now i wonder if my controller is failing? It's working now after being off all night.
     
  2. finding Zzero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    re:

    To be correct, the port is steady green with the occassional yellow blink when it's working. No lights when it isn't.
     
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It could be the port connector on the ethernet card. If you move the cable does the connection go in and out?
     
  4. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    it could also be the other end of the cable. motorola modems don't generally have a wifi ap built in so that tells me you're using a router? let us know what kind of setup you have or else we're going to give you vague answers.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  5. finding Zzero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    wiggling the cable did nada....

    Travva, what more info do you need? What's a controller vs. an ethernet card? The cable goes into some module not a card. I believe the manual calls it a USB LAN. The MB is a Gig GA-MA790XT-UD4P.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try downloading and installing the latest Realtek driver for that board and your OS.
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    after driver installation make sure you shut down the computer, disconnect the psu cable and let it sit there for a few minutes.

    i recently had the problem that a "bad" NIC driver corrupted the network chip enough to require a hard power off to come up again properly
     
  8. finding Zzero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I reupped the driver. Working now, but it's an intermittent problem so I won't know for a while. Bad driver can kill the connection? i.e. the lights are out?
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,991 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    I find if I change my PCI-E frequency, even to 101MHz, my onboard NIC craps out. If you're playing with your PCI-E freq. make sure you set it back to 100MHz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU
  10. andrew123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    Does your card support autonegotation? It could be a duplex mismatch as those tend to end up as intermittent problems.
     
  11. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    OP says netgear router...

    What wires are coming out of the Motorola modem, and where do they go? I have a sneaky suspicion you are using a usb cord...
     
  12. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    you're right free dude about the OP, my bad. i have a sneaking suspicion he's using a usb to ethernet adapter which should be the first thing that's eliminated. finding zero: do you use something like this? [​IMG]
     
  13. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    I think he is using the ethernet to the router and usb to pc
     
  14. finding Zzero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If you guys ever listen to the Car Guys on NPR, where they play "stump the chumps" the sound would be Bwa Bwa Bwa Bwa in descending tones. I'm not there for 2 weeks but I'm sure all the ports are ethernet! I did refresh the driver and it was working. Cheers and happy holidays! Sending this from my Asus netbook on the bay in Sarasota, Fla. Borrowing a friends house.....
     
    95Viper says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page