1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Eurocom Launches The Scorpius With 8 GB Of Video Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia
    it must be 2688 cuda cores since each gtx 680m has 1344 cuda cores. i believe it's a typo
  2. Max Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    1. I would never purchase a product from a company supporting the haunted "Euro" in their name. But that's only my personal view.

    2. 3dMarks11? As long as there's not a single benchmark presented, it's easy to talk big. So numbers, please. And how long will the accu last while playing demanding games?
    Price? What about heat and durability? Noise of fans?

    3. Can't see any advantage for the average gamer. Who wants to carry around 3,5 kg? Not me. At home it's useless as building a rig yourself will probably outperform this part easily concerning money and performance. And 30" is standard by now, at least in my case. So why sitting very narrow in front of a tiny screen? My laptop is just lying around. Maybe because my rig is excellent.

    4. Having left Ati years ago because of their oriental sponsors and being a NVIDIA customer since then, I would never accept a mix of video cards in my rig. But this again is only my personal choice.
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
  3. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,287 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Average gamers aren't likely to be dropping 2K+ on any system, let alone a mobile one. You might also note that the option list includes workstation GPU's (i.e. NOT gaming)
    ????????
    What the f__ are you talking about ?. The notebook supports two MXM slots- CrossfireX OR SLI OR a single GPU of either vendor.
    robn, SaiZo and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,514 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    Naaah I've been here for some time now and that does not describe me. There's room for all of us. Come children, group hug.

    This sums up the entire post. :roll:
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  5. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    690 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    :shadedshu There are lot of confused souls in this thread...
  6. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,878 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    :( this think is 10 times better than my rig
  7. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV

    It's a laptop, it's meant to be portable. Like someone else stated, it's great for engineers who travel a lot. I don't think it's aimed at gamers, this product.

    What's wrong with the word "Euro"?

    What do you mean by oriental sponsors, one of the founders of nVidia is "oriental" - Jen-Hsun Huang. I think it's a great product for those who have use for it, I don't so I wouldn't get one.
  8. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I would never buy a product from a company with the haunted words "Max Mojo" in their name. But that's only my personal view.

    I would also never buy a peanut-bacon-apple pie. But that's only my personal view.

    Thank you for also sharing your personal view.
  9. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,572 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    How do you think I feel?
  10. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    my rig has a year old and this is like 4x better! LOL
    I am impressed how that hardware you got is still alive... 8-9 years old? :cool:
  11. acerace

    acerace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    252 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Damn, you should be thankful. :cry:
  12. Slacker

    Slacker

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    who needs this much of ram? Probably only 8 would be used. 32 gb yeah right.
  13. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,572 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    I have a bad habit of running things into the ground, then running them into the ground some more, all while making them do things they were never meant to do. Usually this ends in disaster, but this craputer still seems to be running pretty well - it even manages to run Skyrim pretty fine if I travel at a walking pace (if I go too fast it doesn't load things).
  14. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    There are actually people out in the world who use their computers for real work and need actual power. I actually use over 16GB RAM on my workstation daily due to the software I use for work.

    Try and see outside of your own perspective.
  15. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    with all the top parts and it built to the max. Your looking at $9K+. Thats rediculous. And I thought my $3K alienware was to much lol. THis is way over kill.

    [​IMG]
  16. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    So why bother posting this? You wrote only garbage. :banghead:

    Your configuration is overkill. I made mine with super stats for only 2400Euros:

    [​IMG]

    :)
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  17. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    delete me
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Most CAD guys have a business class laptop not a gaming notebook. Without mod's you can't even get the GTX 680's to work correctly for high end CAD. They are not exact enough in their calculations. The workstation options are there for that, but still even for mobile CAD work I will take an easier to carry note any day.
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  20. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    You can have Quadro class GPUs in here and that's why I made my point like that.

    Only a fool would buy a GTX 680M or 7970M for professional work.
  21. blanarahul

    blanarahul

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    OMFG!!! TPU commits mistake. It should be 2688 cores and 2560 stream processors.

    :eek: :respect:

    But thats a goddamn desktop. Not a notebook.

    Considering GCN's compute abilities 7970M "should be" GREAT for professional work.
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  22. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    GCN is fairly new to the scene and thus it is not so supported on the professional scene.
  23. [XC] Oj101

    [XC] Oj101

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    South Africa
    I've got 32 GB of RAM at the moment and I'm currently sitting on 15.8 GB used without even trying.

    I know we're all geeks here, but how weak must you be to bitch about 3.5 KG???:confused:
  24. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,431 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    It would be great if it didn't melt itself down to a lump of plastic when you played high resource games.

    CPU above temperature
    Hit F1 to resume
  25. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,287 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    I'll send out a questionnaire as soon as they make it back to the dorm
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page