1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EUROCOM Unveils Leopard2 18.4'' Dual GPU Mobile Workstation with Radeon HD 6990M CFX

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Eurocom Corporation (www.eurocom.com), a developer of long lifespan, fully upgradable Notebooks, high performance Mobile Workstations and Mobile Servers is now offering the EUROCOM Leopard 2.0, a high performance 18.4” notebook with support for dual GPU operation.

    The EUROCOM Leopard 2.0 supports dual GPU technology from NVIDIA, as well as AMD. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M and AMD Radeon HD 6990M and HD 6970M GPU’s power the Leopard 2.0.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    “This notebook is the epitome of mobile luxury computing, being the ultimate in mobile computing with not a single performance weakness” explains Mark Bialic, Eurocom President.

    With the 18.4” display and THX TruStudio Pro, the Leopard is a leader in mobile audio and video reproduction. Being fully configurable and customizable allows users to build their system to their exact specifications, operational and/or application requirements. THX Trustudio allows Eurocom customers to enhance the music and movies to make them sound livelier, enhance the sound quality and bass of any speaker system, and control the level of audio immersion in music, movies and games. Using NVIDIA GTX 560M GPUs the Leopard 2.0 can be connected to an external 3D display using HDMI 1.4a or DVI, a qualified 3D monitor is required.

    EUROCOM Leopard 2.0 is equipped with a picturesque 18.4” FHD 1920x1080p LCD display. Equipped with Auto Light Sensor technology, the Leopard 2.0 can smartly auto-adjust panel brightness depending on the environment.

    EUROCOM Leopard 2.0 supports up to 24 GB of RAM and Second Generation Intel Sandy Bridge i7 and i7 extreme processors, with the Intel HM 67 chipset.

    Such a high performance system also requires a redundant storage solution. The EUROCOM Leopard 2.0 supports 4 storage drives, for up to 4 TB in RAID 0/1/5/10. The EUROCOM Leopard 2.0 is a high performance professional, multimedia and gaming Notebook.

    EUROCOM Leopard 2.0 Specifications:
    • Processor: Intel Core i7 and Core i7 Extreme Mobile; up to i7-2960XM
    • VGA Technology: Modular MXM 3.0b; NVIDIA GeForce GTX single and SLI; AMD Radeon single and CrossFireX; NVIDIA Quadro
    • Memory: up to 24GB of DDR3-1600; 3 RAM Sockets
    • Storage: up to 4TB of storage; 4 physical drives (SSD, HDD or Solid Hybrid); RAID 0/1/5/10; 4th drive is via ODD bay
    • Optical Drive: DVD-RW; Blu Ray Reader; Blu Ray Burner or 4th HDD
    • Ports:2x USB 3.0; 4x USB 2.0; eSATA; Firewire 1394a; DVI; HDMI-out 1.4a; Headphone; Microphone; S/PDIF output; Line-in; RJ-45 LAN
    Optional Graphics Processors
    • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M
    • SLI; 2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M
    • AMD Radeon HD6970M
    • CrossFireX; 2x AMD Radeon HD 6970M
    • AMD Radeon HD 6990M
    • CrossFireX; 2x AMD Radeon HD 6990M
    • NVIDIA Quadro 5010M
    • NVIDIA Quadro 4000M
    • NVIDIA Quadro 3000M
    For more information, visit the product page.
     
    N-Gen says thanks.
  2. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    I'm betting that the price will be over 2000EUR
     
  3. General Lee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Desktop replacements are a small niche, so it's natural they charge a premium. Most people have no need to drag a high performance computer with them.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,620 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529


    Love Your comment dude, I own a Dell Inspiron 9100/XPS Gen 1 which is a Desktop/Gaming Laptop and never had any cooling or stability issues with it. (Ideal Chassis Design for todays high end laptops due to cooling design) It currently is upgraded to Windows 7 HP 32bit.

    They are great for overseas use or even on the road use.

    I say this is the first time to see a single company offer both NV and AMD GPUs for their laptops, Im assuming the PCB interface on the laptop and on both AMD/NVs MGPUs are now universal like PCI Express is in a Desktop?
     
  5. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    218 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Belgium
    it's called MXM and has been around for quite some time with a few different standards
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,620 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    are you talkin about the SEC design of the cards because the MR9800 256 had a plug on bottom in the Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 1
     
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Basic configurations costs 1240 EUR, just click the link and change the currency :)
     
  8. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    270 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    OK is it just me, or does the word "mobile" in this case make you wanna snicker just a wee bit: Weight: 5.6kg (12.32lbs) :eek: Wouldn't exactly want to lug this through an airport LOL.
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Someone get me this.
     
  10. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    1. rob a bank
    2. place order
    3. go to jail
    4. start using notebook after getting out of jail
     
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,054 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    Some, not many, airline companies allows 8 kg plus laptop for carry ones, but yes not something that you what to have on your lap for a long time. 110 lbs, now we are talking ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,620 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    :laugh: yall bunch of pansies
     
    Yo_Wattup says thanks.
  13. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    sli/crossfire x on a laptop!!!
     
  14. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    MXM is a like a slot in port, like ram is on a laptop. Comes from MXM Type-I through MXM Type-IV or HE (can't remember) and is cross compatible with both brands. The only reason where this is not applicable is with many low-mid range mobile gpus where most likely they'll be soldered on.

    My Alienware weighs just about as much and when I used to carry it with me (+ almost another kg for the power supply) it wasn't much of a burden. I used to carry it everyday to school and back in its backpack...a backpack will help LOADS with the weight, use a messenger bag and your shoulders are going to ache.
     
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Honestly, this things price is amazing, CF 6970 setup for $1899 US, CF 6990's just over 2k, thats not bad at all.
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,620 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    SEC is single edge contact like as u said SODIMMs, SIMMs, early L3 cache, Slot 1, Slot 2, Slot A motherboards.

     
  17. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    I have the first gen Dell XPS 1710 laptop that weights 6kg. Never had any problem in airports with it. Nobody will weight it if you say it's just the laptop.

    Anyways, the resolution is to big for such a small display; I know because my Dell has 1920x1200 for 17". Even if I choose the DPI 150% still everything is to small and crappy. Not to mention that I cannot play any game at full res...I mean from the new ones...
     
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Droooooolllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  19. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    1 question. I just noticed that you can put 2x 6990 ATI graphics?? IS that 4 GPUs??????
     
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,151 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,789
    Location:
    04578
    no 6990 = desktop 6870

    6970 = desktop 6850 give or take

    its essentially a laptop with low clocked sandybridge + 6870 crossfire in terms of the i7 extreme thats in it + 6990m xfire
     
  21. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    sounds good. I wonder how much the battery lasts when playing a game...
     
  22. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Don't get those GPU numbers confused with their desktop counterparts.

    Yeah what he said^^. :eek:
     
  23. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    You don't use battery power when gaming, usually lappys go into power saving mode where their performance (esp. GFX) is lowered, you can turn it off but...
     
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    The battery is probably only there in-case you kick the plug :laugh:
     
    Yo_Wattup says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page