1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ever since using Realtemp programs wont respond

Discussion in 'RealTemp' started by sge_phi2260, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey

    Ever since I used Realtemp all kinds of programs keeps crashing.
    It takes a long time for a window to appear after starting it.
    After the window appeared (startup or out of minimize) it doesn't respond about 3 times half a minute.

    And I have to be really lucky if I get to start a game into fullscreen mode. (At least I play most games windowed)

    of course I am not 100% sure it is because or realtemp so I simply deleted it (as it is no prog that requires installation)
    but the problem is still there, so are the icons and notifications (although I can't click them as there is no program behind them anymore)


    now: how can I make realtemp go away?
    I have a backup of my PC before using it but that is kinda old, so I guess I would simply remake my PC from scratch.
    But I don't want to go that far as there has to be some sort of easy solution
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,369 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,565
    You remove it by deleting its files. It doesn't install anything.

    Did you maybe change overclock or memory settings around the same time you used RealTemp?
     
  3. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I said I know it doesn't install anything but the icon and notifications are still there


    not that I would know how to do that...
     
  4. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    One problem at a time, how do I get the icons and notifications to disappear?
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,369 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,565
    The notification icon is only active while RealTemp is running. Did you exit the program and delete its files?
     
  6. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes, I even emptied my trash and restarted
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,369 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,565
    then it should not be running and there should be no icons. can you post a screenshot?
     
  8. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    874 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    I'm sure W1Zz can handle it XD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,369 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,565
    oh that, no idea how to remove it from there. it's added and managed by windows. applications don't have control over that.
     
  11. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is the official forum...
    can you contact the programmers and ask them.
    The wrote in it to go there, they should be able to tell me how I can remove it
    or even better write a short script to remove it itself (I suspect this being less work and frustration than asking back and forth where or what in registry I have to do, because I don't want to mess around in there)
    It can't just stay there forever


    and as a suggestion for future updates: make it go away when the program closes
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,369 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,565
    I found the following:

    Apparently Windows stores the list in some database file and you can only reset the whole file
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  13. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    thank you

    I will report back tomorrow if my PC runs fin now
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,369 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,565
    i can't imagine any connection between the icon there and your system instability. please keep us updated. have you tried memtest/prime95/intelburntest for stability testing?
     
  15. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    memtest, yes
    I saw it in that other thread
    but it didn't notice anything as far as I can tell
    not too friendly against the most stupidest acceptable users
     
  16. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    still there (the problem, not the icon&notifications)
    so I guess your program had just really bad timing showing up when this problem shows up.

    any idea what might makes kinda every program crashing (firefox, skype, windows explorer, steam)
    task manager and realtemp didn't say anything about high stats
    no CPU-capacity or workload (free translation) - at least never more than 7%
    no too high temperature - never more than 55°C
    no viruses - according to free Avira
    and no system instability according to memtest

    you said if I may have changed overclock or memory settings
    I didn't do either.

    What I did lately was change my Screens from 32 to 16 bit color depth and back.
    I need them 16bit to play SimCity3000 in windowed mode.
    I don't think its SimCity's fault but what about the colorchange?
     
  17. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I would venture a guess that one of your drivers is causing the problem.
    Look in the Event Viewer to see if the OS is reporting any rogue driver problems when the applications crash.
     
  18. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, I looked into it, recreated (not intentionally) a crash on firefox open office and the event viewer itself

    now I looked into it again and it gave me additional 102 malfunctions
    although I don't know what to do with that information

    [​IMG]

    Disk...

    Oh how I wish to know the English terminology for PC stuff

    I am now searching for a hard disk and CD-drive driver.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2012
  19. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nobody some kind of advice?
     
  20. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,360 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I would do a system restore.. start/programs/accessories/system tools/system restore..
    Pick a date when you weren't having the problem and restore to that..
    Usually best to pick a date as recent as possible..
    But make sure it is far enough back, to be "before" you started having the issues..

    Me thinks driver related.. Could be hardware related, hope not..
     
  21. sge_phi2260 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah, no, it was a hardware malfunction
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page