1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Everything Look Ok?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bleecher, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Case - Still deciding on a case
    Power Supply - PC Power & Cooling 750W Silencer (Got for free from a friend)
    Processor - Core 2 Q6600 - OEM (Planning to overclock to about 3.0 - 3.3 ghz)
    Processor Heatsink - Zalman CNPS9700
    Motherboard - ABIT IP35 Pro or ASUS Maximus Formula
    RAM - G.SKILL 4GB (2x2) DDR2 1000
    Video Card - EVGA 8800GTS (G92) or EVGA 8800GT
    Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar GP 1 TB - OEM
    Optical Drive - Samsung SH-S203B
    SATA Cable (for the processor, hard drive, etc) - Generic 18" 2-Head SATA Cable

    Does everything look alright, and am I missing any cables, components, etc? I'm hoping that this build will last about 5 years, with maybe a processor upgrade a few years down the line.
     
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    You missed out on the 30" Samsung Monitor and the 3000 watt 7.1 surround sound :D
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Grab the X38 MAXIMUS FORMULA and a E8400, no point in getting a quad imo, its not even native and when we start to use all those cores the Q6600 will be out of date. What about a OS? Are you gonna get Vista x64 since your getting 4gb of ram?
     
  4. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,983 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Florida, US
    Yeah you're missing the (2) HD3780x2
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,711 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    Only issue I see is I think unless the purchase is for looks.....I do believe there are better performing coolers for the money!
     
  6. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Looks good, why not get 2x 500gb drives though? I think you can save like $100 or more + than if one happened to die, you still can re-install windows on the other one.

    Get 2 seagates 7200.11 Thier new and fairly quite/fast from what Ive read.

    Maybe get some MX-2 paste too.


    Edit: yeah I think you should go with what they say, since your on air, get a E8400 than you'll get in some serious Processing power heaven.
     
    bleecher says thanks.
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    The 7200.11's run slower than the .10's
    They have more platters, so their average read/write/seek times are increased.
    (Or thats what Ive been hearing anyway).

    If he wants performance, maybe he should try some raptor X's in raid :D and then a couple of high capacity drives (2 500gig 7200.10's preferably)
     
    bleecher and Chewy say thanks.
  8. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea I was thinking of getting two 500gb drives instead. Also, I will be using XP, with plans to upgrade to Vista later. I'm getting 2x2gb RAM sticks because they're cheap as hell right now, so I figure why not. Also what performance cooler would you recommend? And yea, this is my first new pc in 7 years, so I'm looking to spoil myself =P
     
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,711 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    bleecher and King Wookie say thanks.
  10. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    ^^ I been out of the game for to long lol, maybe he should get 2x 250gb drives and a 500 for back-up.. I can really notice a difference in Company of Heroes online game match load time with raid0.

    Its an idea, 1tb drives are still expensive I think, but but it all depends on his plans thier also lighter and take up less space than 3hd`s.. my rig wights about 35lbs (no portability).
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea 1tb drives are also reported to have alot of problems too.
     
    bleecher says thanks.
  12. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
  13. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Awesome deal on the 750gb, and thanks for the help guys!
     
  14. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    By the way, can someone explain to me or give me a link to a tutorial that shows me how to update drivers for the video card, motherboard, etc? I've never done that before.
     
  15. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Just go to the manufacturers website, look for support/downloads and there should be a drivers section. try it for Nvidia.
     
  16. crinagerulz

    crinagerulz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Midlands
    hey, yer id have to agree here, i don't see any need to get a quad core at the current time, for the cost you could get a dual core(intel) at a relativly low speed maybe 2.4ghz and OC to atleast 3.4 stable, also with the zalman you may want to look into a Arctic pro cooler, they are cheaper and far easier to install than those bulky zalman.

    anyway thats my 2 cents, oh but i know you havent decided on a case but id try and look into a spaceous case, with maybe steel. It would be better in the long run and far better air flow :)

    hope this helps, but great build mate!!
     
    bleecher says thanks.
  17. I don't know what else to add.. Perhaps two Asus Extreme Radeon HD3870X2 cards, and start with 2 or 4 TFT screens and endup with 8 after a few months of work (yes, I am being serious- not joking.)?

    And case.. Hmm, let's see. Myself I have ordered the ASUS Vento (will ofcourse mod it!), but for you I think you should try the CoolerMaster Cosmos 5 case. I read the reviews and I almost regret that I ordered my case.. Check this out - it has a touch button for power on, the HDD bay(s) are on rubber so vibrations are removed, it's prepared for water cooling, you can add extra fan's on top (for the radiator), the PSU is at the bottom instead and so on.
     
  18. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the drivers info, and is the CoolerMaster Cosmos S even out yet?
     
  19. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yup shes out " around 150 pound, or $ 250+ dollars give or take a few im not 100% on the us price, very nice case u cant go wrong with that one.
     
    bleecher says thanks.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,957 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Don't bother getting the Maximus if you are going Nvidia for video cards. It's a crossfire chipset. I would recommend the HD3870 X2 over anything right now if budget really isn't an issue. If you want to go with the GTS, get a P35 or nforce chipset as a x38 chipset is uneccesary, and a nforce SLi chipset will allow for a second card if you want to upgrade in the future.
     
  21. crinagerulz

    crinagerulz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Midlands
    Could i ask what your possibly wanting to use this computer for?? because obviously builds for different needs vary. e.g gaming needs processor and video card, and rendering for games, movies etc. need a good solid processor.

    so if you tell me your use for the computer then ill try and help out a bit further mate :)
     
  22. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Using the computer mainly to play HD content (720p/1080p) and run some games.
     
  23. Skrabrug

    Skrabrug New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Australia
    ???
     
  24. crinagerulz

    crinagerulz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Midlands
    For gaming i'd definitly be more tempted to swing for the 8800GT as in some benchmark results ive found personally and on the net the GS is swamped by the GT!! also if your into modding taking off the stock cooler and putting on a new cooler you could overclock and get an even better performance out fo the GT! and if your in for games like crysis an 8800GT can play crysis on full high -obviously dependant on other components- with a average frame rate of 37. Which is completly playable.

    For your HD content you may want to look into a nice monitor, even though it seems trivial a nice quality monitor can really improve your viewing quality!! a good contrast ratio and refresh rate!! also if you go for an actualy HD TV like me ive connected it by HDMI which may seem pointless but did seem to make a difference for me.

    Anyway hope this helps if you have any more questions i'd be more than happy to help!
     
    bleecher says thanks.
  25. bleecher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just remembered to ask this, but what tools should I have handy for building a comp? I know an anti-static wristband and screwdrivers are a good idea, but anything else?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page