1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

evga 285 gtx in sli one with 1gb the ather with 2gb will it work?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by skellattarr, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    635 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i have a evga 285 gtx with 1gb vidmem will it work with a 285 gtx 2gb mem in first slot in sli? or do they both have to be 1 gb
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,299 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,828
    I think if You do they will both run 1GB of ram.
  3. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    635 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    midway city ca
    bummer i was hoping the 2gb one in the first slot would give me 2gb o well ill look at getting a 1gb then. thanks
  4. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Just a side thought.....but a 3gig CPU(listed in your specs) isn't pushing your single GTX285 to it's fullest potential as it is.........adding another will not give you the upgrade your looking for without a fast CPU to keep pace with them.

    Just a thought.

    Hope it helps. :)
  5. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>> New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    778 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Well I suggest getting a 64bit OS first then Get the 1GB
  6. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why would you do that?

    CPU Bottleneck even at 4Ghz.

    Get i7 :)
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,132 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    At 4ghz, the bottleneck is minimal, and certainly no reason to go i7. Especially for gaming.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page