1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA 680i hates my DVD drive

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by x800professor, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Ok, I just got my computer together and it hangs instead of allowing me into the bios. I remove my IDE DVD drive and presto! I can get into the bios setup screen. The board is an EVGA 680i, the DVD drive is a LITE-ON Model SHD-16P1S. The drive has power and will open and try to read CDs, but when I connect it to the motherboard, it hangs on boot. I have tried all three jumper settings with the same result. Anyone have any ideas?

    Everything else seems to be working fine but here's the list.
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3400620AS 400GB
    PowerTek 750W F5-Series ATX12V 750W Power Supply
    SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950XT
    Logitech G11
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    Thermaltake big typhoon
    Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    DOA???? Try it in another machine
     
  3. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I would if I could. My other computer is 150 miles away. I'm at college, so all I have is my laptop.
     
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Try another cable and put it on its own chain. Also try it with no jumper at all if master slave or cable select isn't working.
     
  5. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I don't have any of my parts with me, so I only have the cable the motherboard came with. It is on its own cable. I'll try that jumperless idea.
     
  6. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Same result with no jumper.
     
  7. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It hangs on code 75, which is the IDE device detection code. That makes sense, but doesn't help.
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    If you just let it hang for 5 mins will it pass?
    Have you tried IDE2?

    Still I think its a dead DVD or a bad cable.
     
  9. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    There's only one IDE port on the 680i...unless I am missing it. I think it's probably the cable...this is something I'd have tested in 2 seconds if I were home with all of my stuff instead of in this apartment with nothing. It's been sitting in there for about 15 minutes and it is still hanging.
     
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,186 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    too bad the all-nite store is out-of -stock on IDE cables LOL
     
  11. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Here in Athens...where I'd get an IDE cable I have no idea. Unless wal-mart stocks them. I pay no attention to the wal-mart computing area. I'm going home on Friday and the computer is coming with me. I should have it figured out very quickly then.
     
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,186 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    seee you friday then
     
  13. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I went and picked up a different drive from Wal-Mart (figured I'd take it back afterwards) and I have the same problem. Now I'm starting to think it is the motherboard, which is just great. I wonder if a bios flash would help anything...
     
  14. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Has anyone else had any problems with this board and an IDE DVD drive?
     
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,186 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    ??is the bios set to 'halt on all errors?
     
  16. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It's not in the bios, so unless it is set from the factory to do so, no. Well, I went out and bought another cable. Guess what? Same problem. So no to the ribbon and no to the drive. I'm left with the motherboard. YAY!
     
  17. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Called evga. Guess what? IDE controller is malfunctioning! So, after spending hours putting it together....I get to take it apart again! YAY! I want to break something...like the neck of the person who is responsible for quality control at EVGA.
     
  18. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,186 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    that's why i asked "??is the bios set to 'halt on all errors? " not the first time seeing bad controller

    "So, after spending hours putting it together....I get to take it apart again! " SH*T Happens:ohwell::banghead: :banghead:

    hope you get a quick turn around on the board ....if i'm not wrong EVGA has a program where they will send out new mb EVEN before they recieve your old one ....might be worth looking into ;)
    and at least on the next mb your ready to do the Raid :twitch:
    will watch for your next postings..... good luck F
     
  19. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yep, they usually make you pay for the whole send back the motherboard when you get the new one deal, but not with the 680i. I hate it when I'm ready to get started with a computer and I end up staring at a useless tower sitting in the middle of the floor for several days.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page