1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Announces New ''Precision'' Overclocking Tool

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,959 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,759
    At the EVGA forums a hint has been posted that they will have a new overclocking tool called "Precision" soon.

    In addition to changing core, memory and shader clock you will also be able to adjust SLI clocks as well as fan speeds.

    [​IMG]

    Source: EVGA Forums
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2008
    Black Panther and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  2. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    so is this available only to EVGA customers?
     
  3. Dangle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reno
    We need a Vista64 ATITool.
     
  4. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    817 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    I can't see them charging for it. One of the Mods said "It will work with nearly all NVIDIA series."
    It hasn't been released yet.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So no ATi support?
     
  6. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Oh, this is super. I've been really needing something like this.
     
  7. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    SLI overclocking without guessing,..awesome!
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    haha guessing is fun
     
  9. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Why would they? That would be reminiscent to MS making and supporting apps for Linux. :laugh:
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    well they do make office for macs
     
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    great move by evga.
     
  12. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Am I the only one who says "yawn" at this? Gainward has a very similar and free utility called Xpertool (IIRC), so I don't see what's so special about this one. :(
     
  13. Bull Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    146 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    This one looks like it could use Riva tuner as a backend.
     
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    linky plz ....
     
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Will that work with a ATi card?
     
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    No need for ATI support. ATI offers its own OC tool (well AMD does for both cpu and video) in the Overdrive software. Its actually pretty good.
     
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Why would they name this "precision"? What's so precise about it? Does it allow you to overclock to a decimal point? OMG MY 750.5MHz IS FASTER THAN YOUR 750.0MHz LOLOLOLZ
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i guess it precise in that the two cards are overclocked vs not being so sure lol.
     
  20. l3fty

    l3fty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's great if you own a Gainward card. What's so special is what was said above. "It will work with nearly all NVIDIA series."

    Having just made the jump back to nVidia. (first card since my old TNT) I have a better appreciation for CCC and the great job W1zzard has done with ATI tool.
     
  21. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    sli overclocking i wonder what they mean by that...?
     
  22. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Nothing impressive really, without voltage controls. Gamer HUD ftw :p
     
  23. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Uhm, FYI I have an EVGA card right now and Gainward's tool installs fine and works flawlessly with it. So again, I don't see what's so special about this utility... :confused:
     
  24. l3fty

    l3fty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmmm, OK. Well I have a BFG and it installs but won't run on mine. So... it's a draw. :rolleyes:
     
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    has anyone seen the big reason why this doesnt support ATI? its not that dumb if you think about it....EVGA only makes nvidia cards...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page