1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Announces the Classified SR-X Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. MySchizoBuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Does your computer stop working if it isn't OCed. you are acting like without the 10% OC your computer just falls part sparks start flying and burn you geeky hairs.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2012
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dont call me an idiot... why the hell would anyone buy this and not expect it to OC?
     
  3. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Because no one expects any of the 2P 2011 boards to OC at this time? The news for the last couple months shouldn't have gotten anyone hopes up. Could you point to me to any news stories that would?

    For that matter... it's a bonus when any of them do :D Been off and on 2/4P boards since my first - a dual P2-333.
     
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    [​IMG]
     
    Fitseries3 and Maban say thanks.
  5. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    Apparently it is so you can use a single CPU. "All PCI-E lanes come from the first CPU socket (right hand one) This is why you can run a single CPU and still have all PCI-E lanes." That's stupid. Maybe one or two people who get this board will be running only one CPU. If you have money for the board and one CPU, you have money for the other.
     
  6. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,302 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    The board has 2 SATA 6Gb/s + 4 SATA 3Gb/s + 8 SAS 6Gb/s, which can also be used for SATA. The plugs are in the lower right.

    EDIT: The SAS ports are 3Gb/s according to EVGA forums, which is disappointing.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  7. vn69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I agreed with you.
     
  8. Filiprino New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Well, I think you can overclock in a way. Server boards don't let you put a fixed BCLK ratio. I suppose that at least both EVGA SR-X and ASUS Z9 let you disable turboboost and put the BCLK ratio at 38, thus having always the two 8 core CPUs working at 3'8 Ghz with all cores. Otherwise, without an overclockable board, the 3'8 Ghz mark would only be achieved with low loads (a few cores active).
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    youre missing the point... xeons are locked. there is no disabling turbo and raising multi to 38... its LOCKED. LOCKED MEANS YOU RUN STOCK SPEED NO MATTER WHAT YOU TRY.
     
  10. Filiprino New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    They are locked within a range. All CPUs except Extreme editions have always had their multiplier ratio locked, but you could put it to any value if it was in the SpeedStep or Turbo Boost Range.

    Selecting manually the turbo boost ratio is not overclocking. And these motherboards allow that.

    Only server motherboards as Tyan don't let you choose turbo boost options the same way my laptop doesn't let you select manually turbo boost options but desktop motherboards do.

    A Core i7 2500 is fully locked but you can always let it manually run at full turbo boost speed on all cores if you put a higher power limit for example.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  11. Ren_kun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page