1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Debuts the Z77 FTW Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,496 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,203
    lol, that analogy made my day.
    Well put, and thank you for not taking offense to what i posted.
    No offense was intended, it's just hard to express thoughts through text without sounding like an ass sometimes:toast:

    My point exactly. My complaint is not that you need to plug all of them in, just that they didn't need to be included in the first place to make this an excellent board. EVGA just went overboard and said "IT MUST HAVE TWO OF EVERYTHING!":roll:
     
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,525 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    Well, this kind of goes back to what blibba said.. its not for you as its more or less made for the extreme overclocker who NEEDS/would use that functionality with extreme cooling and multi gpu configs. Please take no offense to that. :)
     
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,281
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    PLX PEX8747 PCIe 3.0 bridge chip.
     
    blibba says thanks.
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    for what i like to do i want 5.8+, and 3rd gen 1155 shoud get 6+ i hope retail does :D
     
  5. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    847 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    I don't mind all the 6 pin power connectors, but what I do mind is that nasty looking fan power cable just sitting out in the open like that... they couldn't hide it better?
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,667 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Clock speed? Good luck. :)

    There is no way Intel is going to put a 6-core on IVB. It's a tock on Intel's development pattern, which means a die shrink, not an architecture change. I'm not expecting to see Intel put 6-cores in mainstream until Haswell at the very earliest.
     
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Yes I'm talking about ocing not cores... I know Intel won't put 6c on 1155 :(

    But the price got a unlocked 2011 isn't worth it as most don't oc past 5.3 and to bin them is way to much unless I won the lotto lol
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,667 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    4.75Ghz is more than enough for me. I also happen to like quad-channel DDR3-2333 10-11-10-28-T1. It's not like you're really going to notice a difference between 4.75 and 5.3ghz unless you encoding video which is only 10% assuming the clock speed and efficiency scales perfectly. You also have to keep in mind, it's the platform. You can't tell me that this board doesn't have a lot to offer and the 3820 is just as capable as the 2700k, with a couple extra bells in whistles. It's a bargin and it's ready for the future. It's balanced, it's fast, and for a powerful platform, and it doesn't break the bank (as much as a 3930k or 3960x). Quad-channel memory, 40 PCI-E 3.0(ish) lanes and an extra 2Mb of L3 cache has its own benefits, it's not all about clocks.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i run stock when not benching so i just care how high can i get it thats all lol

    and 2011 havent seend that high of ocing thats why im still on 1155 ;)
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,667 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not everyone is looking for max OC. I'm willing to bet that 2600k of yours doesn't have VT-d (Virtualization w/ Directed I/O.) ;)
    Please, find me a SB chip that has VT-d and can do 4.75ghz. Ever since I got my SB-E my virtual machines have been that much more responsive. I'm not saying SB is bad, it just isn't what I wanted. Sometimes features help more than clocks in practical applications.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page