1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Doubles Memory on GeForce GTX 570

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    EVGA released a new non-reference design graphics card based on the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 (part: 025-P3-1579-AR), boasting of twice the memory amount, at 2560 MB (2.5 GB). The 2.5 GB of GDDR5 memory is installed over a 320-bit wide memory interface, with a memory clock speed of 950 MHz (3.80 GHz effective), providing a memory bandwidth of 152 GB/s. The added memory could improve performance on HD gaming with 120 Hz refresh-rates (for flicker-free stereo 3D). The core is clocked at 732 MHz, with the 480 CUDA cores running at 1464 MHz. The card uses EVGA's in-house design GF110 PCB, that is shorter than NVIDIA's reference design. Its cooler resembles that of the GTX 560 Ti, and is designed to be quieter. Display outputs include two DVI, and one each of HDMI 1.4a and DisplayPort. EVGA's GTX 570 HD 2.5 GB is priced at US $399.99 at EVGA's online store.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    A pair of these would be beast in sli
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,516 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    I'm weary of buying this. I want a 2gb or more nvidia card but all these double memory cards coming out now are half past EOL. On top of that the evga versions of this stuff are anywhere from $20-$60 more than the competition. So if someone else makes one next month I'd be screwed.
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  4. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Can it use that much? Seems like a way to sell more cards. I doubt it is worth $400.
  5. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    subbed to see more feedback and discussion,these are indeed interesting.
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,710 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    at least high end vga card has 2gig memory. so this is a nice news since games eat more and more memory on both system and graphic
  7. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,162 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,654
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea we need this because our console ports are so tasking....
    yogurt_21 and Easy Rhino say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Given that the GTX570 has 40 ROPs, a 320bit memory interface and a strong 'front end' it can quite happily make use of more than 1.28GB of memory. Whether it will be able to use all of the 2.5GB is relatively unknown but th extra memory will certainly come in handy for users of surround-like resolutions who also don't want to fork out for 2 3GB GTX580's.
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    GTX570 is EOL? :wtf: IIRC, aren't they near high end and there isn't any GTX6's or HD7k's yet?!
  10. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    I think he means half way through their effective lifespan (ie 6 months into a years lifespan).
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Gotcha! :) Either way, I think its a good move by EVGA.
  12. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Indeed, the GTX570 was begging for more Vram as it makes a very good proposition for Surround gaming on a relative budget.
    pentastar111 says thanks.
  13. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,516 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Yeah. Idk how you can get half passed a fixed point in time haha.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I cant help but think:

    Double your pleasure
    Double your fun
    Double Mint Gum!
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,407 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i lol'ed at that. i think battlefield 3 with 3 monitors would definitely use more than 2 gigs of memory. probably the only game though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page