1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Dual LGA-1366 Motherboard Pictured with Chipset Cooling

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Sure, but I'm just amazed that with a piece of equipment that's so valuable, there's not more attention paid to cooling -- fancy coolers look fancy because they cool well, too. All those copper fins all over the place on a zalman-type cooler aren't just for looks.
  2. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    6800GT, not ultra. Sorry, used to own/use one as my primary card an embarassingly short while ago :laugh:

    Though nothing stopped you clocking the GT to ultra speeds :wtf:
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I dunno I kinda like it. I don't like the price however. Maybe some other manufacturers jump on the bandwagon and release some cheaper dual socket boards... maybe.
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  4. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I know I'm juvenile for sniggering at that but I couldn't help myself.

    :laugh:
  5. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Fire Hazard. I hope this board is UL listed.
  6. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Fixed :p
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Awww.

    XD
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    If that information is correct I'm wondering who they fired at Intel. They've been taking away all bastard dual socket solutions systematically in the past years. They removed the option of running desktop chips together since the Tualatins, then the i875 was used to run Xeons with normal DDR and overclock them so they nudered chipsets as well from there on. And now they remove those limits from the CPU's again? Silly Intel. Still, I don't mind:)
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you have to use xeons with dual QPI's on this board. you cannot use i7's because they only have one QPI.

    however, you can use a xeon with dual QPI in a desktop mobo.

    for some reason the xeons are super expensive though... i've been looking to get a pair already so i can be ready to boot this monster up once it comes out.

    best price i found so far is dual E5530's for $450(pair)(2.4ghz/5.86gh/s QPI's/4core/8threads each)

    also... the board uses standard ddr3. just wanted to clear that up.
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The board doesn't really decide the memory it can use. As far as I know all dual 1366 boards can work with normal memory (unless they raped the BIOS)


    Also, linky to those CPU's?
  11. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,380 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Actually found them on eBay. Nice pricing, also found some German guy selling a 5502 (dual core 1.86GHz S1366) for 55 euros.
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well i negotiated a deal but im not sure if im going to take it yet... http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1484687

    bahahahah!!!

    love the comments today dan :toast:
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i said E5530 not L5530

    L is low power, 60w chips that are hand picked.

    E is mid range and 80w that are still low power by any i7 owner.

    W is workstation and these are generally desktop equivalents.

    X is extreme which signifies both high clocks and/or unlocked multi athough the unlocked multi only comes on the highest numbered chips
    pantherx12 and Assassin48 say thanks.
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Cheers, now I know what the W is in my xeon w3503 :laugh:

    Which I can't use because I have no x58 board anymore D:
  18. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    OMFG!!!!!!:eek:


    I WANT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:rockout:


    Just plug that bad boy into the Hover Dam and you will be ready to go :pimp:
  19. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Another board for rich spoiled kids to get.
  20. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Just work hard and save and you can get one too

    I'm saving money to be able to afford the Rampage 3.
    I dont see myself buying this board anytime soon, the cost for this board + 2 chips + ram + another ln2 pot + ln2 dewar, because we all know this is going to be used for Elite Overclockers with Ln2 at there disposal
  21. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    [​IMG]
    :laugh:
  22. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Those pictures ar elittle more than shameless computer porn! and I love it.:)
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    The board is going to support the Xeon 5500 family and any other QPI compatible CPUs... more info 'ere.
  24. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It probably supports a single i7 yes, but not two of them.
  25. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Most probably, it'll be interesting to see if it works with two i7s but like you said, it's doubtful two would work. Apparently EVGA are really going out of their way with this board.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page