1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Cracks 1842 MHz Core

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,563 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    804
    What are punters?
     
  2. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Here's to hoping they didn't completey chop our nut's off! :cool:
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,494 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    only thing that is making me scratch my head is why the CPU had to be increased?

    Overclocks are nice but id rather have raw power
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I love the ghetto soldered add-on board. ...and how much more power did it have to suck down to hit that kind of speed is my question. Does that power efficiency really scale or does the add-on board bypass every little bit of power saving they added to the GPU?
     
  5. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Don't know about the power consumption part but W1zz said the MFG's provided custom BIOSes for OCing/reviewing

    I think it was W1zz :confused:
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,494 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    ya and thats the other concern will that lil add-on need cooling?

    So your saying these are not the factory bios that will come with the cards/sold? Because I dont think Red Team needed to launch anything such as that as the cards are as is per se.
     
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    IIRC They need the custom BIOSes to override the DOC (DynamicOC) otherwise it would remain within it's predetermined paramater's, which is a major hinderance IMHO :eek: This is most important to people seeking max clock's obviously

    Although without DOC i don't think the gtx680 @ 1006Mhz core would have surpassed the 7970, i think they would pretty much be exactly the same performance wise.

    I still think they did a good job overall, can't fault them for the improvement's they have made, the "refresh" is what i'm interested to see ;)

    Just my $0.02 anyways

    Edit: The link to W1zz's post http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2581156&postcount=20

    I believe this is a standard "feature" for all model's
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
  8. TiN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    184 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    This news is already need update :) We did not slept tonight and kept pushing 680 to new limits. Got 1900MHz running stable, resulting fastest single GPU on planet with P15327 in 3Dmark11 with tesselation enabled as intended by Futuremark :D
    Screenie and some photos and details available on KPC homesite
     
    NHKS and MetalRacer say thanks.
  9. satelitko

    satelitko

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Is it only me, or is there no extra power board soldered to the 7970 unlike this bench here?
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  10. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,559 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I still see soldered wires on the PCB. I would like to know without any hard mods, without any bios flashing, out of the box, what kind of OC will the GTX 680 do? That is what people care about because the average user isn't going to solder new connections to their GPU's PCB and the average user isn't going to have access to the proprietary BIOS for over-clocking either (since all BIOSes now need to be digitally signed, bye bye bios modding).

    Edit: This is also using LN2. Give me some 24/7 over-clocks please.
     
  12. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Just tried this out. Realized it's literally just afterburner with a less convenient UI. No thanks.
     
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    seems like i wont change from ATI back, anytime soon ;)
     
  14. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hilbert got ~1300mhz with a reference 680 with the fan at stock speed, using MSI afterburner.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-680-overclock-guide/2
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page