1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA GTS250 (regular) flash with 9800GTX+ SSC bios possible?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by awdrifter, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi, is it possible to flash the GTS250 with the 9800GTX+ SSC bios? I can't find the GTS250 SC bios anywhere. I know the reverse can be done (9800GTX+ with GTS250 bios), I just want to make sure this is ok. Thanks.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    in theory it should work, but why the need to want to flash to a downgrade, or flash at all for that matter?
     
    awdrifter says thanks.
  3. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just for the clocks. I'm building this for a friend, I want the card to automatically oc itself when a 3D app loads. I couldn't get RivaTuner to do that. Why would this be a downgrade other than in the name? Is there any new features implemented in the GTS250? I thought it's a pure rebrand. Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    Not really no, but you could simply open your bios with Nibitor, and edit the clocks there then flash the adjusted 250 bios to it.
     
  5. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm not touching the bios editor, the last time I edited another friend's 9800GT made it artifact on 3D, so I flash it back to the stock bios, it still didn't oc as well as before. I don't want to risk it.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    Asuming the clocks are already well tested in gaming as well as furmark of OCCT GPU testing to assure stability. Then have at the flash.
     
  7. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, as long as it won't physically damage the card, I'll give it a shot. No boot is not a problem, my board has two PCI-E slots.
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    as I say though, be damn sure the clocks are stable first. if not the card could deteriorate at any time.
     
  9. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Are you sure you cant make it OC at startup using RivaTuner?

    [​IMG]

    Make sure you select that and it should OC the card when you start the PC....also, don't forget to have it auto set the fan speed to about 50% when the PC boots...it will aid cooling. :)
     
    awdrifter says thanks.
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    nice catch aCid, that could save a ton of hassles. Still though, for some reason I think he still wants the stepping feature of the 250 to downclock in 2D maybe?
     
  11. jagass New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I think it should work...
     
  12. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    This is my downclocked settings.
    [​IMG]

    I use ATITool to downclock below what RivaTuner allows me too, saves power nicely and keeps the GPU cool. :)
     
    awdrifter says thanks.
  13. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks. But I found the EVGA GTS250 SC bios on another site, and since there's no SSC version yet, I think I'll just go with the SC bios.

    Yes, I want it to automatically downclock when it exits 3D mode.

    Can ATI Tool automatically clock it back up when a 3D app loads? Thanks.
     
  14. reeven New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I try update my BFG and Galaxy 9800GTX+ bios to GTS250, does not work. Artifacts all over the place.
     
  15. reeven New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    If you overclock with Riva like post 9 pictures, 2d mode work, and when you load 3d app 3d mode work as well. What's the problem then?
     
  16. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    When you OC with RivaTuner the clocks you set at the clocks you get when you go into 3D apps/games too, you have to manually clock it back up to what you want to game at.

    I don't see that as an issue and if anyone else does, your just being lazy...it takes 15 seconds to do this and is not hard, you can even set up "OC Profiles" in RivaTuner so all you need to do is set it to the low clocks you want, click apply and then "Save" and all you do next time is select the Profile and click apply; job done.

    And no, ATITool wont clock your card back up either...its an old and outdated tool and I only find it useful for down clocking further than RivaTuner allows. :)

    Hope you found this helpful. :toast:
     
  17. reeven New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No aCid888*, you go wrong.
    I overclock with Riva, still my card downclock ok.
    Evga Tool mantain the clocks in 3d forever, but i think the latest version manage to switch betwen 2d/3d.
     
  18. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    eVGA Precision?

    I don't have the most up to date version but I will download it and check this out but to my knowledge it doesn't clock the card up and down in 2D/3D environments.
     
  19. reeven New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    But riva do that. Enable Driver overclock 3D, only that, apply your clocks, after restart your card is in 2d, up to 3d in games or app only.
     
    awdrifter says thanks.
  20. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info, but I'm just going to flash it with the GTS250 SC bios.
     
  21. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    RivaTuner is always useful to have. :)



    Good luck with the flash...I still see no need for it as not using RivaTuner to change clocks seem's a bit lazy. :laugh:
     
  22. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't want the card to run at full speed all the time though, I tried RivaTuner on another build with a 9800GT, the oc will not stick if you don't check the "apply at startup" box, but if that box is checked, the card will run at full speed all the time. I know the ideal thing to do is editing the 3D clocks in Nibitor, but I don't want to risk it. Flashing to the GTS250 SC bios is probably the safest best.
     
  23. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    I don't get it.....Software control will always be safer than flashing the bios.......If your cards not down clocking....then try another driver....my gtx285 down clocks fine.....all the time and jumps up nice to my OC speeds when I game....and drops like a rock after I exit......try a newer driver.....or newest version of EVGA Precision.

    Flashing bios will always be the more risky venture.

    Hope it helps. :)
     
  24. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I found the EVGA GTS250 SC bios from another site, so it's the bios for the exact same card except for higher clocks, so the chance of it damaging the card is really low. I would even guess it'll be safer running the card at overclocked speed all the time (in the long run).
     
  25. awdrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, I just flashed the card with teh GTS250 SC bios, it works great, now the card is running at SC speeds.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page