1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA GTX480 core voltage locked @ max 1138

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by fang_laluna, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hi,

    MSI afterburner won't let me increase the max voltage for EVGA GTX 480. I'm using the latest EVGA BIOS. I've been trying to google for unlocked BIOS but no luck so far. What can I do to get the core voltage past 1138?

    Cheers
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    you sure you want to do that? if so send me your bios and ill unlock it for you
    bbfsonic says thanks.
  3. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    :confused: why wouldn't I be sure? :rolleyes: How do I export the BIOS?
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    as long as you can keep the heat down its fine

    [​IMG]
    bbfsonic says thanks.
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    why don't you try EVGA's Precision GTX480 or what it called for their GTX480 card and see if that works?
  6. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    what version of afterburner are you using?
  8. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    1.6.1 I think.

    EDIT:WOOT, it works now. Looks like I flashed the BIOS with the new one I found from OC.net
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    your bios is already unlocked to 1.213v so your issue is in the software your using
    fang_laluna says thanks.
  10. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yep, I just flashed it before I upload it to you. lol. Cheers

    EVGA precision and msi afterburner do the same thing essentially, it's the BIOS that needs modding
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    latest drivers and afterburner 1.6.1 should do the trick thats what im running and my 470 has full voltage upto 1.213v
    fang_laluna says thanks.
  12. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I'm still using 257.21, updating soon. Cheers mate.
    EDIT: is it safe though to run the card 24/7 with voltage near 1.2? The card is underwater so temp is quite good. idle 34 load 53
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    im not sure that it is safe,you just have to go with whatever feels comfortable to you,i personally only went up to 1.1 mine
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    what program are you using to boot into dos mode? Ive been trying to make a USB key but having no luck :/
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
  16. bbfsonic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can u Unlock my GTX 480 Point of view to 1.213V?

    Plz

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page