1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA p55 FTW bios update problem

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Paulieg, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    OK, I've been spoiled rotten by Gigabyte and Asus with easy flashing utilities, and with DFI and Tmod's bios CD. However, now I'm trying to flash the bios on this new EVGA p55 FTW motherboard. I've tried the method described below direct from EVGA (not sure what they mean by CD. I think that's a typo), and I can't get it to work. Any ideas?

    The following drivers/files are available for your hardware and operating system combination.


    Note: If you are having difficulties downloading the driver file, please make sure you completely disable any third party download managers.


    Bios Version : A39
    BIOS Date : 10/26/2009
    Bios File : E657_A39.zip (Primary Download Link)
    Notes :
    The following has been updated in A35:
    Improved XMP Support
    Adds IDE Config into Profile Saving
    Improves VGA Compatibility

    INSTRUCTIONS: BIOS updating can be accomplished VIA the below method:
    CD Method (Blank CD and CD Rewritable Drive Required)
    Download the following .zip file: E657_A35.zip
    Go into the folder where you unzipped this package and run the appropriate batch file.
    For Windows XP, Vista or 7 32Bit: AFUWIN32.BAT
    For Windows XP, Vista or 7 64Bit: AFUWIN64.BAT
    Press Y in CAPITAL LETTERS.
    DO NOT TURN OFF POWER OR RESET DURING THE FLASH PROCESS
    After the flashing is finished, shut down the computer. Then power on again and go into BIOS, Load Defaults, Save and Exit
    Warning:
    **Do not restart or interrupt your PC while the flash is ongoing
    **Do not Flash BIOS on overclocked settings
    **It is always recommended to power-down after flash
    Legacy BIOS:
    E657_A35.zip
    E657_A29.zip
    E657_A27.zip

    A35 Updates:
    Improved XMP Support
    Adds IDE Config into Profile Saving
    Improves VGA Compatibility

    A29 Updates:
    Unlocks Mem CFG for CPU Tweaker Support

    A27 Updates:
    Unlocks Mem CFG for CPU Tweaker Support
    Updates system starting in Safe Mode when insert key is depressed on PS2 Keyboard
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    um all i see is a drivers not found section?...anyway from personal experience with EVGA boards i have never had one that will update through windows nor do i bealive that EVGA makes a utility to do so. the easiest way...make a boot disk drop in your bios..and flash away booting from floppy/cd/usb thats how i do it..if you need the files let me know...
    Paulieg says thanks.
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Me too but have you tried using your thumb drive and doing it that way? I thought EVGA had a bios way of flashing as well.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    So you did get one after all?
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Updated OP. Yup, got one, now I'm just trying to get the bios updated, and it's pissing me off. :banghead:
  6. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,479 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Paulieg says thanks.
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    o well if its a batch you should disable UAC and even if you did or want to keep it on you need to right click and run as admin :) thats what most of my failed batches need :) and i use batch to compile my disk so i need admin to write to disk etc :) this operation isnt that diffirent it probably needs access to the HAL
    Paulieg says thanks.
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I know. That's the issue.I've attempted to run the batch file directly from the downloaded file, but the cmd box disappears once I type in "Y" and hit enter.

    I tried running it as admin already. No luck.
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,161 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    run as administrator
    Paulieg says thanks.
    1 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    See my last post. :(
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    after you extracted the files? beause it wont work right reading from the archive.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,161 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    i never had an issue with my evga p55 sli,i downloaded extracted and ran as admin,but i did have UAC disabled.
    Paulieg says thanks.
    1 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm sure I did, but I'm going to try again...
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    try it with and without the bios in question extracted as well..and make sure everything is in one folder.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,479 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Try opening a fresh command line and type the exact path and see if that works.

    Ie open cmd and type, if the file is extracted to your desktop:
    C:\Users\/*Yourusername*/\Desktop\...
    Paulieg says thanks.
  16. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    LOL. It worked this time. Somehow, I must have not extracted the entire file the first time around. Bios is updated. Thanks for helping out guys. It's the first time in a long time that I've had trouble with a bios update...geez. Learning curve with different brands I guess. :laugh:
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    good times man have fun :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page