1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA P55 FTW ECP Panel ribbon

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cold Storm, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I've got a EVGA p55 FTW board. It comes with a ECP (Electronic Control Panel) for easy use via system ocing or work. It's hooked up to the board via Ribbon cable.

    My question is this. Is the Ribbon cable for the EVGA P55 FTW board the same type of cable that is for normal floppy use? I am getting ready to mod my case for a special box, but I need to get one that is Longer.

    I've emailed evga on this matter,called also, I even have a thread over on the forums. No answers. The emails (phone calls) been about 3 weeks now, so I'm now asking you.

    Thanks for any help you can give.

    :toast:
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,541 (10.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,718
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    unlikely to be the same. even if it was the same cable, floppies have a twist in them so that they arent identical on both ends.


    we'd really need pictures to be certain.
     
    MKmods and Cold Storm say thanks.
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I thought floppy cables did that.. This cable is just a straight cable going from one end to another.. Male to male.. I'm at work, so I'll have to wait till I get home from work to post a better picture of the cable..

    [​IMG]

    its the thing right next to my electrical tape..

    On the newegg link, picture 9 has the connector pictured good. It's the series of pins above the lcd poster. If that helps any..
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,541 (10.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,718
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    why dont you swap it with a floppy cable and test it yourself? easiest way to see if it fits
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Floppy cable is 34 pin connection, this is a 26..

    I guess all a floppy connection is just wires that work with the mobo.. So, I need to know the pin layout of the board for the ECP panel.. Just make my own..
     
  6. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    So didn't you just answer your own question?
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    lol.. Might have.. lol.. You get those feelings where.. Your not 100% sure, so you gotta make sure.. lol.. But, it just gets me on EVGA not even telling me if it was or not. I guess that's where it made me "over think"
     
  8. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Yeah I know what you mean. I'm sure we've all had situations like that before.
     
  9. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    If the FF is similar cut down the floppy pin housing to the right number and strip the extra ribbon off. Be sure to de pin and flip the twisted leads in the Floppy.
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  10. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Thanks cd, Tuesday I'll call EVGA again and see if I can get a pin out for the board. Maybe they'll give me that type of info.. Knowing me, I probably confused them to the fact they didn't know whatI was talking about..

    I was thinking if not floppy, then set up my own via USB headers.. Get with Asus and get a few dozen of their USB headers and make my own that way..


    Thanks again
     
  11. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    hey CS can you take a pict if the 2 ends of the evga cable.
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, I'll do it tonight when I get home.. around 6pm est... My weekend to work.. I'll try and have detailed pictures of the cable, pin layout and so forth then.
     
  13. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    For me I just solder a reg wire(22/24ga) to each end. But I never took picts.

    Cuzza has some picts of his mod that may help
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=98525

    If you dont have a digital multimeter now would be a good time to get one (dont go nutts, get one less than $20) That way you could check continuity of each wire. (+ its handy for checking voltage)
    I have tried a bunch of questions to many of the companies and never received any answers. Unless you find the right person (usually buried deep within the company and shielded from phones/customers etc>)
    The only 2 companies that even tried to answer my technical questions were Biostar and DFI. Evga never responded to even simple questions I sent so good luck with them.
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth

    I got a multimeter in the garage. I'll probably throw it at my bro to come over with his.. I try toget him to help me with my modding..

    thanks for the link to his thread. I'll reread it to see if I've forgot about anything..


    As for the Customer Service.. I've all ways had good talks with EVGA on that sort of thing.. Well I guess it was really just my step-up.. Asus was a pain, and I think that was the only other Customer service via Maker that I've talked with... :ohwell:
     
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    As promised Pictures

    Cable
    [​IMG]

    One end

    [​IMG]

    Other end


    [​IMG]


    Now, there is one wire that you can see is "white" while every other is Black.. That wire is probably the power LED+/-..

    There is a "arrow head" on the "top side" of each end. With that, it shows that one end is slated just for the panel, while the other is for the board itself.. EVGA logo is on both ends of one side.

    When I place the ribbon on the ECP panel it looks like this:


    One side of the ribbon:
    [​IMG]


    other side:

    [​IMG]


    Both Connected:

    [​IMG]



    Back panel of the ECP v2 bare:

    [​IMG]


    hope that helps any..
     
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    MK, thank you so much!!! You don't know how much I wanna say thank you!!! That's the exact same headers they used.. so.. grab that for my 3 day weekend, and my new camera...

    :toast:


    Edit: ordered the 10p of headers, and about 10f of the ribbon. Gives me enough to "mess up! lol.. Now, gotta make up the boxes, and the "male-male" plug.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2009
    MKmods says thanks.
  18. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    nice, take picts for the BadBoys Clubhouse when you do it.
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, I'll make a thread of it.. I also gotta get a thread made for the Box that was made via last case.. :roll:
     
  20. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Cold Storm and MKmods say thanks.
  21. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    nice find there Grnfinger
     
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page