1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

eVGA Precision - temp disappeared after new nvidia driver update :|

Discussion in 'General Software' started by fatmike23, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. fatmike23

    fatmike23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    As my specs say, I am running a mediocre eVGA GTX260 with the software eVGA Precision Tool. This program works great in keeping an eye on my GPU temps. Before you recommend any of other programs that monitor this and many more components, that will not be necessary. The front of my case has a digital temp monitoring display BUT the videocard is the only thing that does not work on the display device temp monitoring thingy. :)

    Toms Hardware has an article on the new nvidia drivers and how it dramatically improves performance on many mainstraim games (oct 5/09):

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/nvidia-geforce-ion-game-tweaks,8790.html

    Naturally, I downloaded it. Unfortunately, my temperature option is completely gone from the eVGA Precision tool. Windows 7, I downloaded the latest eVGA Precision 1.8 and power cycled my PC after I noticed the defect to attempt to correct it (just in case you ask). I am not some idiot doing this shit. It just disappeared. I've had this same instance of windows running since yesterday, 0 restarts. It was working fine this morning while I was blowing up Denmark in Empire Total War. I know, i'm a nerd. :)

    Please help!
     
  2. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Well I'm about to install those drivers too, have to see what happens. GPU temp is responsible for fan speed, hope it still works or these drivers will be bad.
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,027 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Odd, no issues on my end on W7. Running the newest drivers, 191.07, EVGA Precision 1.80, gtx260, and everything works like a charm.
     
  4. kyle2020 Guest

    same for me on the beta 191.03 drivers. GPU-Z still works though.
     
  5. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Same, but on Vista.

    Odd thing about these drivers were they didn't tell to restart (like every other driver so far), but did anyways.
     
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,060 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    sorry yeah the gpu monitoring option is just gone
    ive had the problem for a while too

    bummer not a huge issue but still it was nice to get temps and fps in games
     
  7. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    go to register editor find:

    RmThermalProviderNum
    RmThermalProviderInfo

    make backup just in case ...... delete them ..... restart..... and you'll have your correct temps readings back (I've tried it my self in v191.03 Beta and its working ...... I'm sure its the same here).
     
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland, Boneface and KieranD say thanks.
  8. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    This worked for me.
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,060 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    backed up deleted and just about to restart
     
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,060 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    THANKS! that seems to have done the trick i also now get PCB monitoring.

    How did you know that would work tho? interesting.
     
  11. redsand

    redsand New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    191.07 driver temp monotoring

    YES...
    I had the temp monitoring problem also with the driver update, deleted those 2 registry keys and its back :) Working with hwmonitor and evga precision.-gtx280 vista64
    Thank you for posting the fix, much appreciated

    Originally Posted by raptori View Post
    go to register editor find:

    RmThermalProviderNum
    RmThermalProviderInfo

    make backup just in case ...... delete them ..... restart..... and you'll have your correct temps readings back (I've tried it my self in v191.03 Beta and its working ...... I'm sure its the same here).
     
  12. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    by searching around ...... seems Nvidia need to do delete procedure for those registry keys within driver uninstall ..... at least we have our own way :toast:
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,060 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    thanks again appreciate the cool fix i hope a few stumble across this thread and use it ive seen a few threads on the internet with same problems
     
  14. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    drivers worked fine for me, both with just installing over the old drivers, and doing a fresh install after uninstalling old, and running driver sweeper/ccleaner, temp still shows up
     
  15. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Hey thanks worked for me to
     
  16. fatmike23

    fatmike23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    This worked perfectly! I'd like to thank you all for your feedback and time that you have put into solving this problem. I hope this helps others!

    Nerds unite!
     
  17. kyle2020 Guest

    This hasnt worked for me. deleted both from the registry, still no temp monitoring in Precision :(
     
  18. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    did you uninstall nvidia driver ..... you should delete the registry keys after uninstall the driver also you make sure to uninstall nvidia system tools and reinstall latest one ...
     
  19. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Just to be sure, there is multiple keys for each that I found in registry, make sure you remove them ALL. I did not uninstall drivers, just ALL keys and reboot.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page