1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Prepares High-end Dual-LGA1366 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    EVGA is keeping up its streak of releasing high-end motherboards for processors based on the new Intel Nehalem architecture, with a new dual-socket monstrosity. Slated for CES 2010, not much about this high-end workstation motherboard has been revealed beyond the picture below. From the looks of it, probably EVGA is making a high-end, overclocker-friendly dual LGA-1366 motherboard based on the Intel 5500 "Tylersburg" chipset with the usual ICH10R southbridge. Existing LGA-1366 processors that support dual-socket operation which includes Xeon 5500 series may work on it. Probably, a future high-end Intel Core family CPU is released that is capable of dual-socket setups, too. The picture reveals two LGA-1366 sockets, each powered by an 8-phase digital PWM circuit. Each socket is wired to six DDR3 DIMM slots supporting triple-channel memory for that socket. More this CES.

    [​IMG]

    Source: EVGA Forums
     
    ..'Ant'.. says thanks.
  2. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm.... I drool at the dream of having one of these with two i7 980X and a butt load of nVIDIA cards folding 24/7!
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    now THAT, is what i call high end
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    damn to bad freaksavior sold his xeons :banghead:
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    two of the new 6 core CPU's + 12x4GB of ram

    24 threads + 48GB of ram

    add in a few fermis, and i bet it can run crysis :D
     
    Oblivion-330 and Soylent Joe say thanks.
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    would this have SLI support considering this is an Intel chipset?
     
  8. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    278 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    almost anything can RUN crysis, but I assume you mean run it at 2560 x 1600 with 4x antialiasing and 16x antiostropic filtering and all settings on very high...and never having the framerates dip below 60 :).
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    many 1366 boards can run SLI

    heck, lets go ATI eyefinity - 3x30" 7680x1600, 120Hz panels, 120FPS minimum.
     
  10. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    278 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    hell, I can run crysis fairly well...with settings on high, 1680 x 1020, NO antia-aliasing, and it's fluid, as in the framerates average 38 or so lol...but a far cry from what I just described even though it is smooth it's JUST fast enough to be so and obviously I'm running several tiers below what I formerly described as far as resolution/eye candy is concerned. But at the rate Nvidia has put off Fermi I may never get it anyway!!! Isn't it like 8 months delayed from the original summer date they intended?
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    its my fault, but we should stop talking about crysis here.

    unless its about its performance on this awesome mobo
     
  12. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    278 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    well...it is "the" benchmark game so in essence it isn't totally off topic...and I'd GLADLY talk about crysis on this motherboard, anyone care to get EVGA to send me one to test it? :laugh:
     
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Overkill to the max and I love Overkill :laugh:
     
  14. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    What, no dual LGA-1567 board? 6-core is old, time to go 8-core!
     
  15. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    There should be Quad LGA1567 boards out there once Nehalem-EX hits :D
     
  16. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yup:

    [​IMG]

    Been checking just about every day for new Nehalem-EX news :) Earlier I had heard that they're might be a cheaper version for 2P boxes (3 QPI links?), but it looks like you might just have to use the standard chip:

    [​IMG]

    And for those who can 'live' with only 12 cores ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  17. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I seriously hope you got the joke.
     
  18. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    We need better VM/multi-user solutions so that we can change the joke to 'how many copies of Crysis' can it run :D
     
  19. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    278 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    obviously, as I said he's joking it could run crysis and then some even with every setting possible, just lamenting and comparing what I can do and wishing it were more lol
     
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    X16aa
     
  21. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I bet the internet will run really fast on one of these. :laugh:

    (I actually had a guy ask me "would a $1000 cpu make his internet run faster?")
     
  22. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    But can it overclock? (Serious Question)
     
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I expect EVGA will include OC'ing options within the BIOS as it is a high-end, enthusiast part, but this is the sort of platform that doesn't need OC'ing so they could limit it for stability. I hope this isn't as much of a failure as Skulltrail was, that thing sucked shit covered donkey balls when it came to games.
     
  24. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    meh probably only get about 46fps in crysis!!! ROFL!
    i do agree though a pic of this full board would be nice and maybe a little bit of info on it as well
     
  25. TAViX Guest

    Dual CPU mobos were available since forever, I don't know why you guys think this is so special?! It just support the new unreleased processors. I'm using at work for 3 years now something similar with two Xeons and SLI Quadro, and I can confirm that is damn fast. HOWEVER, in games the performance is so-so, and yes, I've replaced the SLI Quadro with an 280GTX, and the performance it's on pair with the latest I7, but not faster...

    The main issue here remains the price of those mobos, which is kinda outrageous for the end-user...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page