1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Prepares High-end Dual-LGA1366 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    You mean dual cpu boards?

    Yes, they have been out a LONG time. Since like 8086 days i think (maybe older) but the problem is most if not all are for the IT crew and server junkies.

    This board from eVGA is meant for the enthusiast consumer and its looking like it will be a Classified variant guessing from the color scheme. Also, it will most likely use consumer i7s instead of high priced Xeon server chips. Only some time will tell but ill be guessing that it support SLI or Crossfire too.
  2. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I am curious, what would an enthusiast user do with this board mainly? Benching?

    i am just wondering how well dual cpus scale since i know nothing about it.. its hard to get a single i7 chip past 50% cpu usage unless using a stress tester.
  3. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Hmm, could this spark more companies to start doing this, as well as game developers to utilize both cpus?
    Look forward to seeing reviews on this once it is officially released with specs and all
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    its not really for enthusiasts or gamers. its for hardcore video renderers, or a server.

    dual CPU's scales pretty much the same as dual core/quad core etc.

    It can in fact be faster, since half the cores/threads have their own memory controller/memory pool
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. TAViX Guest

    Depends entirely of the applications really. Software like MAYA, 3DS Max, CATIA, SW, HyperMesh, etc, I know for sure that support dual procs, but others...I'm not so sure. And I mean especially games. I mean there are so few games that support quads, the ones who support dual CPUs you can count them on 1 hand.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    a quad core CPU or two dual cores - they both appear the same to programs. 4 cores available.
  7. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Yes, and so if you can overclock a Quad to twice the speed of two Duals, then the Quad is the better choice.

    Which means that I have to know if this board can overclock.

    In fact, just give me a board that can.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459

    first of all: yeah, but then you could just get two quads. see?

    second:
    [​IMG]

    this *is* an OCing dual socket board.
  9. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    Who will one day will make EVGA mobos for AMD processors
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    if that were to happen, one assumes EVGA would make EVGA mobos, regardless of CPU?
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,368 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    They already do.

    [​IMG]
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    booyeah, even a pair of 920's on this with two 6gb ram kits is a killer setup already, throw 2 cards of your choice on and good times shall be had.
  13. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,403 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Mostly server til around the Pentium Pro days. Before that very few could afford (or even find) dual 486s or Pentiums:

    [​IMG]

    Found her on the side of the road in an old Gateway tower. They had nice towers back then, my first computer was a Gateway Pentium 75. Anyhoo... I find it very unlikely that EVGA or anyone is going to design a board allowing for dual i7s. EVGA can with very little work release a 5520 board for 55xx Xeons with OC capabilities and call it Skulltrail II.

    Like with all my machines I'll be crunching/folding. As well I run a number of VM's for testing/evaluation/training and I don't like to close applications. No need to totally close out of a game if I just going to get back into it an hour later :D

    And I'm always looking at solutions for better simultaneous multi-user support. Share the power!

    Even though people had been using dual CPU machines for some time (P-Pro, P2, P3, Xeon) and even Quake III had experimental multi-threading support, Hyperthreading on the P4 really started to get dev's thinking about designing more games in that fashion.

    There's been roughly 5-6 years of releases since then with varying multi-threaded utilization. In other words, it's already happening and I don't think this changes things much in regards to game design.

    Here's to hoping that this one can. :rockout: It's been awhile since we've had that option.
  14. Icejon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    122 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I seriously hope it doesnt use the 8th PCI slot, that is having a PCI-e on slot 7. My chassis doesn't have a 8th PCI bracket slot! I hate it when companies mess with the ATX specifications like that.
  15. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    If you can afford the board and the two CPUs that go into the two sockets and the buckets of DDR3 that will be filling those memory slots, let me assure you, your case is the least of your worries :)
  16. Ptep Guest

    Very unlikely that it will take the consumer chips ('Existing LGA-1366 processors that support dual-socket operation which includes Xeon 5500 series may work on it.').
    i7's dont support dual socket operation, so for the moment (until perhaps intel release a consumer cpu that supports dual sockets) it will be Xeon only.

    Either way this will be a formidable setup, cant wait to find out pricing and more details!
  17. ..'Ant'..

    ..'Ant'.. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    294 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    █♣█
    Too overkill!!!
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    there is several sizes in the ATX specs. trying to use a high end dual socket server board in a mid tower ATX board is asking for trouble.
  19. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    354 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    It can take the current Nehalem EP and perhaps the soon to be released Nehalem EX that have additional QPI paths enabled so that they can be interconnected with the other CPU(s) on the board. It's a Workstation/Desktop board, but the chipset(s) must be server class.
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Man, this is my crunching dream.:twitch:
  21. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Is this spec'd at EATX or ATX? Probably to early to tell, but dare to dream.
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    impossible to tell without a full pic
  23. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I'm assuming EATX and needing dual 8 pin cpu power pins.
  24. TAViX Guest

    Any word on the price yet?
  25. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Easy buddy, they want you to dream about it for a while until you are abruptly awakened by the price tag.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page