1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Prepares Software-Control For GPU Voltages

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,258 (11.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Overclocking video cards has become a child's play these days, thanks to helpful software utilities that feature simple sliders to adjust clock speeds, test and apply overclocked parameters. Those serious about overclocking take to high-end cooling, and volt-modding. EVGA picked on a gray-area, where users should be given a level of control over the GPU's voltage. The company is known for taking initiatives in making performance control accessible to most users by providing easy to use utilities such as the EVGA Precision.

    Now, the company is coming up with a nifty utility called the EVGA Voltage Tuner. Exclusive for registered users of EVGA GeForce GTX 200 series graphics cards, the utility allows a decent level of control over the GPU's voltage settings, within a range permissible by the GPU's BIOS. While this utility isn't an all out substitute to volt-modding, it allows for all the voltage tuning the default state of the graphics card's electrical components allow. A simple slider allows for adjusting the GPU core voltage with a resolution of milli-Volts. The results of using this utility are impressive, with a small voltage adjustment sending the maximum core overclock up by 100 MHz, a significant amount when it comes to GPUs. The first version of this utility is said to support GeForce GTX 260 (65nm), GeForce GTX 280 and GeForce GTX 295. Suceeding versions may expand the compatibility list to include some important graphics cards, namely GeForce GTX 285 and GTX 260 (55nm). The second and third screenshots below show a before&after scene of adjusting voltages using this utility.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: EVGA Forums
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
    HeavyH20, DrPepper, KBD and 4 others say thanks.
  2. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Nice, not only is this useful for overclocking but if they put this on lower-end cards it would be nice to underclock and undervolt some cards for some nice htpc setups with low fan speeds.
  3. evil_raptor

    evil_raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    w00t!!! glad i bought an evga card :D
    but it is sad to know that it doesn't support the 9800GTX+ :(
  4. The Gonz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  5. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Wicked! :rockout: I was going to get a 200 series card but now i know that it will be a EVGA
  6. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    ATI had cards with software voltage control since the x1900 series. Too bad they stopped the idea.

    EVGA is just asking for a flood for RMA'd cards to come in. It will now be so easy to kill a GPU.
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Kewl, no more bios flash to crap out the card. This looks something that might make consider who has manufactured my next card.
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Another great reason to go Evga, they are starting to run away with best manufacturer (double-lifetime warranty for xfx seems to be the only real reason to choose another). Great stuff, I've always wanted to nudge the voltage on my 8800gts but I'm too afraid to take a soldering iron to it. Nice to know the next card I have could do it w/ software.
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They need a BIOS reset switch on them now lol
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    this is a very big deal. now every card can have the advantage of the end result of volt mods. Im pretty excited, this will completely revolutionize VGA overclocking. Imagine an 80% overclock on your favorite x2 GFX card.
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Now all I need is the AC acclero GTX280 to become available and get properyl OCing! :D
  12. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    EVGA has a strict no RMA policy when it comes to modded voltages/bios
  13. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Surely they cant enforce that with the release of a software vmod they created. :shadedshu
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Of course they can :laugh:: Wow this ram is absolutely fried, the only thing that could do it like this would be modded voltage. They went too far. RMA revoked.
  15. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    When you read about software that allows changing voltage on GTX260 and GTX280 first you think of was underclocking undervolting and htpc:roll::roll::roll:
  16. The Witcher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    433 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Thank god I bought the EVGa GTX260 (65nm) and it will arrive tomorrow, I hope someone here make a guide about how to use this new program :D

    Thank you EVGA :D
  17. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I hear what your saying but it sounds unethical to me.. they are making it far too easy for people to damage their products.. Hardware vmods and bad BIOS flashes are easy to spot but overvolting that would cause internal damage. Damage that is usually diagnosed by speculation.

    They could in (in theory) reject every RMAd card they receive that has been OCd with that utility regardless if it had a manufacturers default or not.
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Yes they can :p they don't force you to use the program.
  19. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    This is still great news regardless. As someone said Asus was the first with their 4870 Matrix card and now eVGA. I'm sure more manufacturers will follow soon as this gives eVGA and Asus Matrix a competitive advantage. Hopefully soon there will be no need to up the voltage via Ati Tray Tools (which is limited anyway) :rockout:
  20. wolf2009 Guest

    GIGABYTE beat them both.

    http://en.expreview.com/2007/12/24/gigabyte-developing-new-vga-card-overclocking-utility.html

    thats more than a year old
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Is that ATi Tool running in those screenshots?
  22. wolf2009 Guest

    How can you even have doubt about that :)
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Because ATi Tool hasn't been updated in some time. Notice the clocks being shown for the GTX 260. That doesn't happen with any version I've tried. That's why I'm wondering if it IS ATi Tool or a program that looks a lot like it.
  24. wolf2009 Guest

    maybe EVGA has access to a build in progress of a newer ATI Tool. Otherwise I am not aware of any tool that uses a fur like that and looks like like ATI Tool
  25. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page