1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Readies Dual-LGA2011 X79 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,702 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,422
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    At this year's Computex event, we were treated to socket LGA2011 motherboards by various motherboard manufacturers, except EVGA. The company makes some of the highest grade enthusiast motherboards in the Intel platform, and so it was missed. It is however, said to be working on a monstrous dual-socket LGA2011 motherboard based on the Intel X79 chipset, that would replace its dual-socket LGA1366 EVGA SR-2.

    Just imagine, such a monstrosity would combine two six/eight/twelve-core LGA2011 Sandy Bridge-E processors with eight channels of DDR3 memory, and four PCI-Express 3.0 x16 (electrical x16) links to drive its graphics cards and connectivity. EVGA said that it will have single-socket LGA2011 motherboards by the time the platform launches, and this dual-LGA2011 about a month later.

    Source: TechReport
  2. derwin75

    derwin75

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm saving up my money for this one. I can't wait!!!
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Man, I wish I could afford that.
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,994 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,094
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I think I would go with Tyan. Any dual processor system in my book, needs to be a high-reliability server. I don't trust EVGA as far as I can throw them. I'll definitely be looking to LGA2011 when my server dies (I think it is going on 4 years old now).
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    I go for amd rigs, 1055T with 16 gb ram(ecc) is perfect and run more of them and cluster!
    thats what I do, I get prices of 230 £ per server -nics though, I find myself a dual intel nic and a 3rd nic depending on what it'll do :)
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Tyan doesn't OC as well. This is an enthusiast product, not a server product.
  7. derwin75

    derwin75

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I agree with Wile that EVGA Dual LGA2011 X79 Motherboard is an enthusiast product for Overclockers and Hardcore PC gamers. Tyan products are mostly for business use.
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,023 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    What I would build if I had enough money for this monster,

    2x 5.6ghz clocked 2011 CPU's
    32GB Ram 8x4 2133mhz
    3x 6990's or 4x GTX 580's Watercooled and OC'd
    3x 2560x1600 monitors
    1x Power Plant
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    lol, you might actually crack 100fps in crysis with that monstrosity, imagine the psu requirements :eek:
  10. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    100 kw psu
  11. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,096 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    That would run about 2000W lol. You'd have to take out some loans just to pay your power bills xD
  12. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    If I had the money to waste, I'd buy a fudge load of these and make a boat load of folding farms and then have one as a play-thing.

    I can dream.

    :(
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,159 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Benchmark rig become out.
  14. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    You are here.
    The only problem is you can only have TWO (2x) 6990's (or 590's) and THREE (3x) 580's, since dual GPU cards can only be CF'd/SLI'd with just one of their kind, and a single GPU card can be SLI'd with two others of their own.

    You could however have FOUR (4x) 6970's, but why would you do decellarate your experience like that.

    You could say you'd go for a F@H rig, but then the 3x6990's argument wouldn't hold water...
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,023 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Ah yes I didn't consider that the 6990 only comes with one crossfire connector, although it does seem like you can definitely run Quad SLI with GTX 580's and two 6990's is theoretically 4 GPU's working together anyway.

    Video of Quad SLI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JXKZbhbjw_k&feature=related
  16. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    This would be a great new gaming rig, too bad games dont really use more than 2 cores these days.
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If i was rich i would go for this.
  18. link2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto
    People are still spreading this BS? Please do some research, a number of games are using more than 2 cores and future games will most DEFINITELY use more than 2 cores (the ones that actually require more computing power).
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    I ♥ Evga




    +1 many games are multi-threaded and can handle multiple cores. Heck even the Xbox 360 cpu is a 3-core cpu. :)
  20. derwin75

    derwin75

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I ♥ evga
  21. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    593 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    that would be nice if they could pull it off, i heard a nice story latley maybe some woudl be interested.

    When Abit was bought out and then died they had one of the best engineering teams, for mobos at least, but those guys didn't wanna stick with Abit's new owners, so they went to DFI, you see some of the nice DFI X58 boards you saw becuase of these guys, but when DFI went then EVGA took them in, but EVGA being an American based company, and one that sells more VGAs than Mobos, even though the classified and SR2 were sick they sold more VGAs so their VGA teams got the bonus in TW, which means a lot, those engineers were actually quite angry from what i heard and they moved on again, supposedly saphire took them in, they took shamino in, but they didn't put anything nice out other than a late X58 board and a P67 boartd, but nothing special like before, so it seems like those great days of shamino teaching us how to use one of the best boards ever has come to an end. One thing you will see from these guys is that they love volterra PWM and VRm design.

    Right now Shamino is at ASUS, Tin got hired at EVGA, I think Kingpin Quite EVGA. Anyways engineering might or might not be what the guys listed do best, for Tin and Shamino it is b/c they are EEs, but their ability to influence features for overclocking is what we need them for, and shamino did for the classified and that is what we are seeing with the SR2.

    I doubt we will see it from EVGA tho, maybe ASUS. Who knows with Tin at EVGA hopefully we will see some amazing stuff.

    That is just my thought.
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
  22. Samuka3000

    Samuka3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, does that means I could have 4x GTX 580 running at 16x at the same time?
  23. derwin75

    derwin75

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I think so....As long as X79 motherboard has two NF200s then you can run 4x GTX 580 on it.
    Samuka3000 says thanks.
  24. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    Wouldn't an NF200 or even two be a bottle neck on PCI-E 3 as it only runs at gen 2 bandwidth. And I am just guessing here but four x16 PCI-E 3 links means two X79's are lurking on this board
  25. derwin75

    derwin75

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I can tell you that I own a EVGA Classified Super Record 2 (SR-2) motherboard and it has 2 NF200s on it and no bottleneck at all. SR-2 was terrifically fast with GTX 580 4-way SLI

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page