1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Excel question

Discussion in 'General Software' started by JanJan, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Looking at the break-even, can you show me the formula to make it so that the break-even will appear only once in year 2013 and for year 2014 and 2015 it would be blank or say something like "already break-even"...

    Many thanks :)

    http://www.techpowerup.org/uploaded.php?file=110215/excel060.png

    btw, techpowerup.org copyright says 2005-20010 :)
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,976 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,806
    use =IF()
     
  3. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,757 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,494
    =IF(D35="break-even";"already break even")
     
  4. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    well yea if you look at my formula i used the if function. My question is after i enter the if function in B35 and I drag it all the way to F35, how do I make it so that break-even only appear in D13 and not E13 or F13 (or may be display something else in there?)
     
  5. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,757 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,494
    if you want to use drag then use this

    =if(or(b35="breakeven",b35="already breakeven"),"already breakeven")
     
  6. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    didnt work for me :(
     
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,757 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,494
    elaborate? what cells do you need and what exactly should they show
     
  8. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    the function first need to compare b33 and b34 then it will give break-even or not. if it's breakeven then the years after that (even after dragged) need to be either blank or say sth like "already breakeven"

    thanks :)
     
  9. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Congrats w1zzard on your new avatar :)
     
  10. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,757 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,494
    performing such a chore in excel is very annoying, if you want you can attach your excel file and I will write a program that will do and save all the calculations in that excel file
     
  11. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    can anyone show me how make it so that a long excel page would print correctly without cut offs ? :)

    edit-figured it out :p i could slap myself for being so impatient
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page