1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Exe file slow to open

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Tintai, May 1, 2013.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Maybe. If possible take some pictures of your bios screens.

    Are the HDD's set to AHCI in the bios?

    Do you have your chipset/SATA drivers installed?

    What motherboard are you using?
  2. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Yes

    ASRock p67 PRO3 B3. How can I take screen from BIOS?

    But now I tested one thing. Exe files from WinRar(SFX archive) open faster. When I click on SFX archive(exe) I must wait max 1 seconds.
    So the problem is only for application like installers.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    A SFX archive isn't going to open right away. The files have to be extracted first. When you are opening it in WinRar, it's not extracting the file, it's just reading it which is why it opens right away.
  4. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I see. So... I have no idea.

    You have the same disk as me(Corsair Force 3 120Gb). If you can check how long 1GB installer opens in your computer. I would be grateful.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
    Tintai says thanks.
  6. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Anything.

    [​IMG]
    I think it's ok but why installers open slow? I remember that on my old computer this operation was faster.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Looks good. I guess I don't understand your issue. You seem to be expecting file extraction to be immediate which it is not. Any installed application/program I run on my computer will open immediately. Any files that I extract will take time to extract.
    Tintai and Aquinus say thanks.
  8. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Yes maybe you right... Thank you :)
    Last question, installer extract to pagefile? When I disable pagefile, all files will be extract to RAM? Yes?
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Ever stop to consider that a 1Gb installer might be doing other things in the background before it shows any window? I suspect there are compressed files and preparation the needs to be made prior to installing the software and it's very possible that even though you don't see it, it's doing something.

    You know how UAC prompts you when you do something that requires admin? An installer that does that will only give you that prompt once the application has been loaded into memory and is ready to run. If you get the UAC box, you click yes and it takes some time, that's the installer doing its magic and it takes time regardless of the kind of machine you have. If it's slow before the UAC dialog box, that's slow disk I/O.

    I personally haven't experienced this on my rig but that means nothing as it kind of has excessive amounts of I/O bandwidth.
    Tintai says thanks.
  10. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I wait for UAC dialog. After this installer runs normal.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Disable the UAC dialog and see what happens.

    Control Panel, User Accounts. Turn User Account Control off.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Do not disabled UAC, it will not make a difference. I only bring it up because the dialog box comes up only after the application has been loaded into memory. It can tell you what is going slow by show quickly that box comes up and how quickly the installer comes up after you say yes to UAC. It has absolutely no reason why it would be going slow and to recommend turning it off will only cause more problems than it will solve.
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    I find UAC to be a nuisance and counterproductive. I have zero reasons to leave it enabled.

    Anyways, do you think the memory is unstable?
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    have you tried without the antivirus like i suggested?
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I agree, but if you don't disable it when you first start using the computer all the local settings inside your account suddenly aren't used anymore because you can now write to the program files folder. That does cause problems which is why I never recommend disabling it after Windows has already been installed for a while.

    I don't find it incredibly counter productive, it's certainly no more intrusive than what OS X does with administrative tasks and gksudo for linux. I seriously see nothing wrong with the setup other than the fact that his SSD write performance seems a bit low so I'm baffled. I guess memory could be unstable, but the low write speeds makes me suspect that there may be I/O errors present.

    Could we get a screenshot of your SMART logs for both drives? You can get it using something like CrystalDiskInfo or HDTune. Personally I use smartctl from the smartmontools package on Ubuntu for checking it. CrystalDiskInfo doesn't seem to get it right half of the time with my drives in RAID, but that's a different problem.

    If there are I/O errors, it's very possible it's a bad cable. So just for the heck of it, if you have a extra SATA cable, try a different cable.
    95Viper says thanks.
  16. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Here is the screens:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I'll try to defragment HDD.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page