1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

expert water coolers needed! help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Fitseries3, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im having a hard time finding someone who knows the answers to my questions. i dont wat to buy a bunch of crap and not use half of it. also i don't want overkill... simple is best.

    here's my idea so far...

    CASE: lian li pc-v1200b plus II (link)
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6ghz
    MB: EVGA 680i black pearl
    video: 2x 8800ultra's

    gpu coolers: koolance 8800gtx/ultra blocks (link)
    cpu cooler: innovatek 775 block (link)
    NB/SB/VREG: innovatek kit (link)


    so far that's what i've come up with. now, my questions...
    1. what radiator(s) should i use? how many?
    2. what diameter of tubing should i use?
    3. what pump? how many GPH?
    4. reservoir?

    like i said... it all needs to fit in my case. i DONT want ANYTHING outside the case. i have already figured out how to put a 2x120 rad in there as well as a 1x120 rad. would that be sufficient to cool what i have? i plan on using a single 5 1/4 bay reservoir. i have figured out how to mount everything...but i dont know if it will be enough or too much for my system.
    also i need to figure out the best way to plumb the system.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2007
  2. deekortiz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Radiator = Thermochill 120.2 (Link)
    Tubing = If you can make the bends 1/2 but probably 7/16 (Link)
    Pump = Laing DDC w/ Petra'sTech DDCT-01s Top Combo (Link)
    Reservoir = If you can mount it a Swift Tech Micro or run a T-Line. (Link)

    Any reason for going all Innovatek?....

    I would use a D-Tek CPU block, EK 8800GTX Blocks, EK North Bridge Block.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    1 - for 2 ultras and a quad it needs to be overkill
    2x240mm or 2x360mm radiators should be enough the 2nd a must if you overclock
    2 - tubing diameter makes little difference
    3 - don't know
    4 - it's handy but not a must have

    ps: why 2 8800ultras?
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i want the 8800's to be single slot so i can use the other slots, the innovatek's came with my evga 680i black pearl edition.
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    that's what i have. im a dealer, so i got them at a good price.
     
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    nice then
    you're going to oc anything?
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the q6600 is running at 3.6ghz (1200mhz OC) everything else is stock speeds
     
  8. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    a 360mm and a 240mm quality rad's is prob the best option
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. mas0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    dallas
    I have a Q6600 @ 3.6GHz 1.388V using an Apogee GT and a ThermoChill PA120.3; still getting to 46C on hottest core under load. If you are going to add two 8800Ultra to the loop I would guess you will be hitting 65+ which is within spec on a G0, but you may want to add another rad or use very high CFM (and loud) fans.

    I am using 3 Scythe fans 49CFM@20.1dBA on the rad.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  10. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Ok...

    a Thermochill PA 120.2 will just about handle 2 8800 Ultras and a CPU... I wouldn't build such a thing... instead, I would set up a PA 120.2 for the CPU, and a PA 120.3 for the GPUs... so have 2 loops. 2x Laing DDC with Petra's top... as far as the GPU blocks, Swiftech MCW-60 would be my choice. CPU block = Apogee GTX with copper top.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  11. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    that's way too much!!! where the F*** are you supposed to put all that stuff? how about a 4x120 rad? (link)

    i plan on using the new high impedance noctua 120mm fans.
     
  12. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Tubing diameter does make a difference...the more liquid that can flow through the tube the more heat dissipation there is...
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2007
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  13. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,262 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    My only thoughts on this are that if you can afford it, use an external stand alone LCS to handle the SLI cards and nothing else. Then you can put a smaller, less beefy and chaotic LCS inside the case for the CPU/NB.


    I also agree on the EK GTX/NB blocks.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i didn't buy this $400 motherboard to just not use half the stuff that it came with. WTF? i listed everything i currently have. im not going to get something different just because it's what you use. i appreciate everyones help but please do not tell me to get something else. i realize your personal preference may differ from mine. IF you have witnessed that what you are recommending is, in fact, better than what i have... then let me know. some sort of linkage would be appreciated also. i realize that there is not many reviews on water cooling equipment... i imagine the cost has something to do with that.

    the whole idea of my project is to take a nice looking case, put some DREAM hardware in it, and use water to cool the whole thing... but make it all fit inside the case. THAT'S MY CHALLENGE. i don't want a huge case with radiators and hoses everywhere. a simple setup is what im after here.

    I HAVE YET TO OPEN THE KOOLANCE GTX BLOCKS.... so if you can send me a screen shot of your temps (if your running the EK gtx block) i could return them and use the ones you specified. i like the koolance ones because you can link them back to back in sli with less hose. im open to switching out the gtx blocks, but the innovatek stuff stays. SORRY.

    i hope i haven't pissed anyone off... and i hope you continue to assist me throughout my build. thanks in advance.
     
  15. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    and btw using wc on NB/SB/VREG doesn't help much and heat up the loop even more, i would get air cooling for them
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,711 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,232
    The EVGA black pearl is already ready to watercool from the factory with blocks already installed I believe....So in essence he wants to use whats there.

    http://www.evga.com/products/moreinfo.asp?pn=122-CK-NF69-A1&family=400
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    OK, what if i just use the regular evga 680i board im using now? then what would you recommend? i know it sounds kind of hypocritical, but i can sell the board pretty easy. i've got a couple of people bugging me to sell it to them. so just the q6600 and 2x 8800's... what should i use for that and still fit it in my case?
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    YOU ARE CORRECT. i though others would notice this also. it's no problem for me to sell it though. i can just use the board i have now.
     
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,711 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,232
    Personally Id send Dom a PM and see what he might come up with, as a look in the casemod gallery led me to this......http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/817.html


    Now the major difference here would be , as suggested, possibly a second loop for those 8800's.

    Personally I have 2X7600GT's Vmodded on the same loop as my CPU, but adding the other blocks would probobly end up adding a lot of heat to the cpu loop!
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  20. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  22. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Please feel free to shoot me a PM... I will be more than happy to answer any questions you may have.

    Also, I want to give you first piece of advice as I give everyone else....

    Remember to pay attention to who you are getting the advice from and what they are running. I cannot stand it when people try to give advice on something they have no clue about and are only regurgitating something they heard somewhere else and really don't know if it is fact or not.

    A lot of the people on the forums that will try to give you advice on watercooling have never even setup a proper watercooling setup. (BTW, this isn't directed to anyone on here) As I said before, I will be more than happy to help you out and you are more than welcome to shoot me a PM and I will help however I can.

    Good luck!
     
    Fitseries3 and sneekypeet say thanks.
  23. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Lies, stop directing stuff at me d44ve! :laugh:

    I will probably be taking you up on that help offer as well.
     
  24. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Anyone is welcome to shoot me a PM.... I am on here ALOT, so I usually can respond fairly quickly
     
  25. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page