1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Express cache with big and small ssd

Discussion in 'Storage' started by freebie, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Hi all,

    been trawling for a few days now can't find anything on this.

    I just brought a samsung ultrabook which had a 500gb hdd and a 24gb ssd which it was set up for express caching.

    I got it for a bargain price (and free windows 8 :] ) so i upgraded the hdd to a 256gb Samung 830 ssd.

    My question is though,should i reset up the system to cache again or is it a waste of time? or shall i just use the 24gb ssd for an extra bit of storage.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    I didn't quite understand your post but I have questions/

    What do you use as boot HDD?
    and what are the list HDDs that you use?
    freebie says thanks.
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    i would definitely reset the cache.

    then check subjective performance over a few days with caching on and off. i doubt you'll see much of a difference.

    24 gb isn't much useful, maybe turning it off will help save a bit of power?
    freebie says thanks.
  4. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Thanks W1zzard - I think you're right, should probably test the difference. Worth a try for the power saving. Might just end up using it as a bit of extra storage, dedicated Steam folder lol.

    @lyndonguitar - The ultrabook had a 500gb hard drive installed, and soldered to the board is a 24gb ssd. I've replaced the 500gb with the 256gb SSD.
  5. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Power saving would be a few watts at best. I would use it as a cache and consider getting a bigger one at some point.
    freebie says thanks.
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,595 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,798
    Location:
    Oregon
    Or sell the msata
    freebie says thanks.
  7. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Can't get a bigger one, thought it was msata but its soldered to the board apparently, thats why i upgraded the 500gb hdd to a 256gb instead.
  8. Condusiv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ExpressCache

    Hi freebie,

    OEMs license and use our ExpressCache technology in the systems they manufacture because it enables them to offer the performance of a pure SSDs system at the fraction of the cost without impacting storage capacity.

    Hope this helps!


    Alex
    Condusiv Technologies
    freebie says thanks.
  9. samus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    huh?

    sorry, i noticed this and had to jump in here and respond.

    freebie, based on Condusiv's point, it seems pretty odd to me for someone to buy an ultrabook with expresscache and then use the money they saved to turn right around and spend it on an SSD for the system... am i missing something here? :confused:
    freebie says thanks.
  10. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Thanks both, The laptop is ridiculously faster with the SSD in then it was with the ExpressCache and HDD.

    But i have to admit, was rapid before as well. :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page