1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

External HD

Discussion in 'Storage' started by bpgt64, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I am planning on buying an external drive with an eSATA port, However I don't have an eSATA port on my computer. And some of the benchmarks online show significant improvements in speed using an eSATA, vs USB 2.0 . I have several open SATA ports how ever, and I may not understand completely how eSATA works, however I thought a normal SATA port could be connected using something like this;
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0233366
    I am using this motherboard;
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131335
    and this External HD;
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822204079


    My overall goal is to create an eSATA port on the back of the computer using the device from Microcenter plus a generic SATA cable...Any suggestions or corrections to my ideas?
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    Well, none of your links work, but I assume you meant something like this.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812226006

    In which case, yes you can just use that to get an eSATA port on your computer. You will also need an eSATA cable to go between your drive and the computer, a standard SATA cable will not work.
    bpgt64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Yup, thanks a bunch
  4. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have read some posts that say my motherboard needs to support "Hot Plug" for eSATA to work right.. I am assuming thats just the ability to initialize when a device is plugged in. My motherboard however doesn't seem to talk about supporting Hot-Plug, and so I'd assume it doesn't. Am I back to square 1 with this? or..
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    You have to go into your motherboard's BIOS and make sure you enable the option to allow the ddrive to be hot swappable, most modern motherboards have this option. Some boards call it "SATA Mode" or "AHCI". This will allow you to hot-swap the drive.
    bpgt64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I went into the bios and found this;
    SATA Configuration; Gave options; IDE, RAID, ACHI
    It's currently set to IDE, as I only have one drive


    There was another sub configuration setting that gave the options of;
    Disabled
    Enabled
    Enhanced- Is what its set to.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    Change it from IDE to ACHI, this will allow hot swapping.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Whhattt if I told you doing this causes my computer to blue screen on trying to load... :)

    I switched it back, and it was fine...but hrm
  9. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,828 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,939
    Yeah, I was going to suggest you do pretty much exactly what it says to do in method two.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    two things, One, I do have multiple sata ports, and like 6 host controllers, plus a 2sata port controller and 4 sata port controler, plus a IDE controller. My question is which of those do I need to update the driver for or rather how do I know which controller is hosting the HD?

    Secondly, I am in vista business edition, and when it says to locate the driver in DOS folders, where the hell is that? lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page