1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator update

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mnemonik23, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. mnemonik23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Mega Update: ATI R600 and GeForce 8800 GTX, Intel Quad CPUs and latest processors from AMD and Intel!

    The following changes were made:

    Graphics Cards:

    - added GeForce 8800GTX - power consumption data is based on a few online sources (wattage value is proximal, not final)
    - added ATI R600 - power consumption data is based on a few online sources (wattage value is proximal, not final)
    - added ATI Radeon X1300 XT
    - added ATI Radeon X1650 Pro
    - added Radeon X1900XT (R580+ 256MB)
    - added ATI Radeon X1950 Pro

    Processors:

    - added AMD Opteron 165 1800 MHz Denmark 1.30v
    - added AMD Opteron 165 1800 MHz Denmark 1.35v
    - added AMD Opteron 170 2000 MHz Denmark 1.30v
    - added AMD Opteron 170 2000 MHz Denmark 1.35v
    - added AMD Opteron 175 2200 MHz Denmark 1.30v
    - added AMD Opteron 175 2200 MHz Denmark 1.35v
    - added AMD Opteron 180 2400 MHz Denmark 1.30v
    - added AMD Opteron 180 2400 MHz Denmark 1.35v
    - added AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+ 2800 MHz AM2 Windsor
    - added AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ 2800 MHz AM2 Windsor
    - added AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3000 MHz AM2 Windsor
    - added Opteron 1210 1800 MHz Santa Ana
    - added Opteron 1212 2000 MHz Santa Ana
    - added Opteron 1214 2200 MHz Santa Ana
    - added Opteron 1216 2400 MHz Santa Ana
    - added Opteron 1218 2600 MHz Santa Ana
    - added Opteron 1220 SE 2800 MHz Santa Ana

    - added Socket F AMD

    - added AMD Athlon 64 FX-70 2600 MHz Windsor
    - added AMD Athlon 64 FX-72 2800 MHz Windsor
    - added AMD Athlon 64 FX-74 3000 MHz Windsor
    - added Opteron 2210 1800 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2210 HE 1800 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2212 2000 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2212 HE 2000 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2214 2200 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2214 HE 2200 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2216 2400 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2216 HE 2400 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2218 2600 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 2220 SE 2800 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8212 2000 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8212 HE 2000 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8214 2200 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8214 HE 2200 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8216 2400 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8216 HE 2400 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8218 2600 MHz Santa Rosa
    - added Opteron 8220 SE 2800 MHz Santa Rosa

    - added Intel Xeon 7150N 3500 MHz Tulsa
    - added Intel Xeon 5148 2330 MHz Woodcrest
    - added Intel Xeon 5310 1600 MHz Clovertown
    - added Intel Xeon 5320 1860 MHz Clovertown
    - added Intel Xeon 5345 2330 MHz Clovertown
    - added Intel Xeon 5355 2660 MHz Clovertown

    - added Intel Core 2 Quadro Q6600 2400 MHz Conroe
    - added Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 2660 MHz Conroe
    - added Intel Xeon 3040 1860 MHz Allendale
    - added Intel Xeon 3050 2130 MHz Allendale
    - added Intel Xeon 3060 2400 MHz Conroe
    - added Intel Xeon 3070 2660 MHz Conroe
    - added Intel Xeon 3110 2130 MHz Kentsfield
    - added Intel Xeon 3120 2400 MHz Kentsfield

    eXtreme Power Supply Calculator
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,477 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Cool tool - says I need 425W. Doesn't mention the peak rail loads (needed for the X1900XTX, from what I understand).
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    says i need 318watts,cool i have a 430watt.
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    says I need 490w. Wow thats good that I have a 550 :)
  5. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    I need 337W i have 550 so cool :)
  6. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    292 for me
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Damn my school has that website blocked.....
  8. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    How come? :wtf:
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :shadedshu Because they are *****S like that.
  10. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    These tools are not very useful since they don't take many other factors into account and they never take efficiency into account.
  11. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Only thing I'd want to add to that tool is the required 12 volt rail strength, that's a major factor when it comes to buying a new PSU. It says I need 272W, my 430W TT has me covered :D. If I were to upgrade to an X1900XT, it says I'd need 313W and doesn't mention anything about the necessary rails. Just out of curiosity, think I could run an X1900XT on a system like mine (18A on the 12 volt rail) ?
  12. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    280w I got 420w with 32 amps on my duel rail.

    307w (cpu @ 85%) 326w (cpu @ 100%) if I got my conroe system... Wounder if my psu would hold up if I used it in a conroe system for 4 months? I need to make cuts where I can imos (not the best place to make cuts eh but since I already have this psu.) Nope 336watts at 80% my psu will put out, better get a new one.

    18 amps I think you need more for the xt, my 1900gt recomends 30 amps.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  13. mnemonik23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Would you be so kind and provide more details on many other factors?

    btw, Amperes per rails - work in progress ;)
  14. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    350W for me. I have 400w. Is that ok or should I upgrade?
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,418 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    At least it gives you a hint on how much power you need..

    OK, I need 470W, it says.. WIth a 7900GTX. :wtf:
  16. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    mine eats 345w, but this thing lacks the gfx card overclock :ohwell:
  17. mnemonik23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    eXtreme PSU Calculator Update

    November 15, 2006


    The following changes were made:

    Graphics Cards:

    - added ATI X1650 XT
    - updated NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS
    - updated NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT
    - updated NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT

    Motherboards:

    - added new motherboards field with ability to select the following types:
    Regular - Desktop
    High End - Desktop
    Regular - Server
    High End - Server

    PCI-e Crads:

    - added PCI-e x1 card
    - added PCI-e x4 card
    - added PCI-e x8 card
    - added PCI-e x16 card

    Pumps:

    - added Danger Den MAG II Limited Edition
    - added Swiftech MCP355
    - added Thermaltake Aquabay M5

    Water Cooling Kits:

    - added Thermaltake Symphony CL-W0040
    - added Thermaltake Symphony Mini CL-W0077
    - added Zalman Reserator 2

    Fans:

    - added 250mm LED fan

    Print Page:

    - updated print page with above components

    eXtreme Power Supply Calculator
  18. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I like people who register just to spam a linky to their site/program/etc. However:

    390W for my old system. And 305 for my new setup, it's RAM isn't listed though, should add another 10-15W (Selected DDR2) Both are at stock speeds and 100% utilization. As for the new system I took a 7900GT though I'm not 100% sure yet that I'm buying that.

    I expected both systems to waste more energy...
  19. devinXkillyou

    devinXkillyou New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    388 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    mine quotes 310w while i have a 450w psu. nice, good calculator
  20. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    it says that my amd 3000@2700mhz consumes more than 300w
    wrong
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,224
    bah

    this has confirmed my suspicion. says i need 564 watts which actually makes sense cause im running 550 watt and it shuts off on me sometimes and beeps at me. regardless ive got the 700w ocz on its way so i can go crossfire. about time!
  22. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    wich are your sys specs?
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,224
    oh

    weird that my system specs dropdown thing isnt coming up.

    anyway, ive got athlon x2 +3800, 2 gigs ddr400, radeon xpress200 mobo, x1800xt (625/750)overclocked to 675/792, a dvd burner, 160 gig segate barracuda drive and a 550 watt coolmax psu which is currently dieing.

    upgrades coming in are the xpress 3200 mobo (for true crossfire and a far superior 939 mobo) and 700 watt ocz psu for when i get my second ati card.
  24. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    579 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    if u sellect every thing u need 13282 watts!!!!! rofl lol
  25. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i doubt that your your stem would consume 500w :twitch:

    (you have to check it dor other ppl to see it in usercp ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page